We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Management Centre
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I came to visit my daughter who is at Bangor Uni and decided to stay over in the Management Centre. I now see why it is ranked number one on Trip Advisor. It's a lovely, clean, modern building and the staff are so friendly and welcoming. My room is perfect for a lone traveller, the bed is bigger than a single bed but slightly smaller than a double. The facilities in the room make it an excellent base. Although I didn't try the Brasserie for an evening meal I did have breakfast and cannot fault it, it was delicious, there was a good choice and again the staff were very friendly. I can't recommend this accommodation highly enough, I will definitely return and would say it's a great place to stay especially for parents wanting to visit their children at uni.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylietoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    114
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
46
116
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great place to meet friends or on business
It's a little pricer than other places in Bangor but its worth it
However it is mostly for students, uni staff and business meetings but anyone wouldn't feel out of place there and everyone is friendly

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank cymraescymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a university linked business/conference centre with hotel facilities. I stayed in similar in Edinburgh with much less satisfaction. Check in was smooth, car parking plentiful if difficult to find in the dark. I stayed on Floor 1 which is down two sets of stairs from reception which with a heavy case was a bit os a struggle. However ground level rooms are avilable so if stairs are not your thing request one of those. The room was large with very adjustable heating, simply decorated, with a good desk and spotlessly clean. Lighting in the room was good - I dislike the current trend of muted lighting so that you get dressed in a gloom. No bath which is a shame but the shower was great and the towels were large and thick and fluffy. The bed was good and so were the pillows. Decor is functional rather than pretty but for the price you don't expect more than that. What ups my rating was the food in the brasserie- good choice, locally produced and well delivered by a young but well-trained waitress. Usually in this style of hotel there is either no restaurant facility (Edinburgh) or it is cafe style. It was close to where I needed to be for business, and with a decent satnav, easy to find. Recommended for business, for pleasure you might want something with a little more soul. I would use this place again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A good place to stay should one be in Bangor. The Management Centre is attached to the University but not run by it. It is modern, clean with friendly, efficient staff. The food in the restaurant was ok, but it was a bit disappointing being the only people dining. I would thoroughly recommend staying here for a couple nights or so and don't be out off by the name!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabella_and_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. All the staff are the most friendly and helpful I've ever come across in the UK. Rooms are well equipped with absolutely every thing you might need and very comfortable. Free wifi and breakfast, which is also very nice.
The best place to stay in Bangor, and I've stayed at a few places!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotessdelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you're ever looking for somewhere to stay in Bangor, North Wales you won't go wrong booking in here. Part of Bangor University it may be but the rooms are definitely not what you would expect for student accommodation.

Great rooms, great service, great value.

And the 1887 restaurant serves excellent food at great prices. The staff are always willing to go that extra mile for you.

Room Tip: Overlooks the Menai Strait and ideal for town and picturesque walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeyflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as our son is studying at the University. It was a quiet weekend so some of our comments may be less accuratethan when they are busier. However, despite the rather souless reception area we were welcomed and allowed access to our room far earlier than expected. The room had all the normal 4* facilities found elsewhere. Everything worked and the room was spotlessly clean. We decided to eat at the centre on the first evening - they advise advance booking during busier periods. We needed to dine early and initially there was a problem caused by some decorating work - they did not want the paint odour to linger. They then rang us during the afternoon to state that arrangements could be made to allow our reservation. We were the only early diners and as soon as we walked into the restaurant we were made welcome. The Maitre D was present and had arranged for us to be in an adjoining smaller room, away from any paint smell and very cosy. He was informative, helpful and had a nice dry sense of humour. The food was competitiively priced and very tasty. Later we had a problem with the Internet connection - this was sorted by the reception who came to our room and persisted until the problem was solved. The Hotel was very quiet on the Sunday evening and though the bar looked comfortable it needed more than us to be welcoming. Instead we went to the restaurant again and had a freshly cooked snack, again served by friendly staff. I am sure that, at Graduation times for example, the place is full and advance booking is essential. We will certainly try to return and hope for the same excellent service.

Room Tip: We had a king-size bed at the end of a !st floor corridor. The view from the corridor window was sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamVR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Management Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Management Centre

Property: The Management Centre
Address: College Road, Bangor LL57 2DG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Management Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management Centre is graded as Visit Wales 4 star Guest Accommodation and offers 57 en-suite guest bedrooms that have achieved the Visit Wales Business Class Gold Standard. Many of the rooms have stunning views of the Menai Strait and Anglesey. Facilities are fully accessible for wheelchair users, please note that due to The Management Centre being a listed building, there is no lift access to the third floor bedrooms.Our range of guest bedrooms include single, twin, double and king executive and all come equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and a dedicated workspace for all your business or study needs. All guest bedrooms are en-suite with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and digital flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Management Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Management Centre Hotel Bangor
The Management Centre Bangor, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing