We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast fantastic”
Review of Yr Hen Orsaf

Yr Hen Orsaf
Ranked #44 of 152 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“breakfast fantastic”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had eggs benedict beautiful nice toasted muffin with Wiltshire ham an egg poached perfectly and the hollandaise was so creamy lovely. Thanks to the staff lovely friendly and welcoming . Under £9 for 2 eggs benedict coffee and a juice bargain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    143
    106
    61
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food arrived very quickly and for a family of four, it was decent quality, good sized portions and good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dogs not welcome here! even outside!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Tried to have lunch, and a drink here today, I say 'tried' because we were waved away before our b*ms had hit the seats! We were attempting to sit outside, under the very nice glass awning which was part of the station. We had with us one smallish, very quiet and well behaved dog, there was just one table occupied,and about 20 not, and we had made our way to a quiet and out of the way table.
I should say we had a rather nice meal here a few weeks ago, hence the return trip with our dog, we were going to have a nice walk and a bite to eat, (or not).
We were unable to find a 'doggie friendly' place to eat, we even called into the tourist info office, and she suggested just one place , where there were a few tables on the road, and we might be allowed??
Aberystwyth, you are behind the times, all sorts of lovely places welcome doggies now.
Wetherspoons, we will pass in future!!
Good tip for a fab dog friendly meal, go to wonderful Aberdovey, you will find lots of shops have dog water bowls outside, (did not see one in Aberystwyth) and your four legged friend will be welcome with open arms at The Dovey Inn (Brains brewery pub), Great food, really nice coffee, and good beer. Half of the down stairs welcomes dogs and children, the other half is for the odd folk without either!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Station Snacks”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Splendid location on the concourse of the railway station with plenty of passengers passing by to the Vale of Rheidol Railway. Whilst being on the concourse you are protected by a canopy which with the warming sun making for a pleasant environment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very hit or miss”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Things that are griddle cooked such as steaks and burgers are really unpredictable and quite often undercooked or overcooked. The food isn't as hot as it could be and service is slow, but it's ok.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Welshiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yr Hen Orsaf also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Yr Hen Orsaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing