We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
King bed with plenty of wardrobe space and dressing table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King bed with plenty of wardrobe space and dressing table
Spring-time at Celyn Cottage Lounge/Dining/Kitchen with plenty of space to relax in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
King bed with plenty of wardrobe space and dressing table
Spring-time at Celyn Cottage
Lounge/Dining/Kitchen with plenty of space to relax in
Well equipped kitchen with wash/dryer, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster etc.,
Shower room with walk-in shower.
Sunshine on the front seat for most of the day
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and also the distant Cambrian Mountains
View of surrounding countryside
View to the sun facing south of the meadow
Our summer visitors
Stroll along our canopied lane - cool and lush with a stream gently running down the side
Aberystwyth prom walks are so enjoyable
Take a drive up to Cwm Rheidol reservoir and visit Statkraft butterfly house
Merry Christmas - December 2015
Enjoy the evening sunshine from the lounge
Raised stone wall flower beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathryn G
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just a perfect cottage everything you needed was there and very clean and tidy plenty of cups and saucers plates pans and glasses all clean

Just a perfect cottage clean tidy including all the crockery which there was ample off, the Beding and towels where lovely and crisp clean and white, also Marilyn provided tea coffee sugar, We had a worm wellcome from both Marilyn and Ifor the kettle went straight on for us,there was also bread, butter,milk and biscuits weighting , which was very nice (thank you) Out side the cottage there was table and chairs so you could take in the lovely views and relax and soak up the peace and quiet just the sound of the birds and sheep with a glass of wine in your hand what more could you want. Just Perfect. Thank you both just lovely hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
THANK YOU, for the most heartening and generous words of encouragement. The least we could do for the perfect guests and it was a pleasure having you to stay at Celyn Cottage to celebrate your pending Ruby wedding anniversary. Thank you also for taking such good care of our property and for showing such delight in the glorious surroundings during your stay. It thrills us both to know visitors view the place as we do and it was lovely to see you strolling around the lush meadows. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja B
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Cottage in Wales”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just home from a lovely relaxing weekend at Doleos Cottage. Lovely cottage and surroundings are marvelous.It's a very peaceful and beautiful place to relax and recharge .
So many thanks to our host Marilyn.Marilyn is lovely and kind person and she keep the cottage and the surroundings absolutely pristine. We arrived there very late and she welcomed us with Delicious Welsh butter,bread and cookies n Milk.We want to be back because I simply fell in love with this cottage.It was like home from home but without the hassle.
The cottage has everything you will need to self-cater in terms of cooking facilities , utensils, cleaning etc. There is a nearby Morrison's supermarket in Aberystwyth (6min drive) plus nearby Fuel station too.
It is located in Aberystwyth.Hence you can visit both south and north wales.
Note:Please try to leave the cottage as tidy as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
THANK YOU so, so very much for your lovely review. It certainly makes all the hard work worth it. It delights me when my visitors see the cottage and its location as I do - somewhere lovely to switch off! I will strive to improve wherever possible, especially with the landscape and hopefully eventually it will be amazing. We are very lucky to be in a glorious area of Wales with the beautiful coast and countryside, mountains and valleys.
Thank you for choosing my cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I throughly enjoyed a two night stay at Celyn Cottage. It was perfect to escape and enjoy some peace in an ideal location.
Marilyn was very accommodating and was a warm welcome after quite a long drive. The little touches made it feel a home from home.
I would definately recommend to stay here. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
THANK YOU for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome such a charming couple and I am delighted you enjoyed staying at the cottage. I would be more than happy to welcome you both back, hopefully in sunnier weather, for an even better experience of the beautiful surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3062Jane
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage set in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Spent 5 days at this beautiful cottage and wish I could have stayed longer.
The cottage was perfect for me, with a modern interior which was spotlessly clean.
Had lovely weather and I really enjoyed sitting out on the patio in the morning and evening, relaxing in the tranquil setting.
Perfect location for visiting my daughter at the university.
Marilyn was lovely, friendly and helpful and it was nice having her on site to sort out any problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked everything.
Liked least: Had to stand outside to get phone reception, but this wasn't a problem.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay despite the weather not being very nice. Always a huge pleasure to have guests like you to stay, taking such good care of the cottage. Hopefully you will return sometime soon and see the progress with the landscaping - we are creating a gentle natural water feature and planting to encourage wildlife and birds in particular. It should enhance the restfull peace out on the patio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil haven in a hectic wedding week”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much for your warm welcome and hospitality. The cottage was beautifully equipped and perfect for our family week. We started every day with a walk round the meadow with the kites soaring above, wild orchids and even a fox. The surroundings were stunning with a view of the coast from the paddock. It was such a treat to sit on the patio with a cup of tea. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the cottage. Away from it all but easy access to Aberystwyth and the owners.
Liked least: Erratic phone signal
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you, it was my pleasure to have you staying at the cottage and enjoying the delights of the place. You obviously captured the relaxing atmosphere and indeed added to it with the melodious guitar playing and singing! Thoroughly enjoyable! Thank you for taking the time to review and for your very encouraging words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warm Welsh Welcome”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a wonderful find....such a comfortable and very well equipped cottage with stunning countryside views. After a mix up with my hire car at Manchester airport, I arrived much later than intended, but the warm welcome from Marilyn who had shopped for me was very much appreciated. Peace and quiet but only minutes from the town. Beautiful place....lovely people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
THANK YOU so much for your very kind review and it was a huge pleasure to welcome you after your trip from Australia. So glad you found the bed to your liking and the peace and quiet allowed you the rest you needed! It was lovely to see how you made the most of your car taking in some of the fantastic amenities and scenery in the area. You inspired me to want to travel! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Celyn Cottage what a lovely find”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was taking all aspects into consideration one of best cottages we have stayed in. Our hosts were so helpful and friendly without being obstructive. The cottage was spacious, comfortable and very clean and had many lovely thoughtful touches included. It was so peaceful and yet only a short easy drive to Aberystwyth, the short walk up the meadow gave you lovely views of the surrounding countryside and sea, and we were lucky to see a couple of sunsets, Red Kites, a fox and rabbits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
THANK YOU for your generous review and for being the perfect visitors. It’s always an immense pleasure to share the natural beauty we have all around us. So glad you took delight in nature at its best and wish to return. I look forward very much indeed to welcoming you back when hopefully you will be even more impressed as we continue to improve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing