We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for short stay”
Review of The Helmsman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Helmsman
Ranked #15 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
herts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place for short stay”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

First stayed here when advised by university for visit. Since my son has started at Aber' Uni' I would not stay any where else. find the staff very nice and polite, "lovely people" in my view. May not suit a week long stay but for a few day nice place, Great Breakfast !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibengineering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I was going for an open day at the university and they booked me a room at the helmsman, after checking the reviews I was exceptionaly sceptical. But as B&B's go and against the current reviews it was a nice place to stay. Both rooms that we booked were clean, the staff were friendly and breakfast was nice. If your staying in a town with so much nightlife your not going to spend exceptionaly large amounts of time in the room so for a base and somewhere to sleep it was nice. For the purpose of a B&B I have no bad things to say.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Old fashioned decor, bit of a hike to the top floor, sloping floors and mis-matched furniture but the shower room was newly tiled and kitted out although there's not much space. Both this and the bedroom were clean. This place is on the seafront so offering sea views but these get stiflingly hot. We paid £60 for a twin room for the night, £30 less than others along the front. The beds were comfy. The owner was pleasant enough until we tried parking where we shouldn't when she was very abrupt. Breakfast was excellent though. We were waited on hand foot & finger. The lady that was waitressing brought us everything including more juice and coffees and she was just lovely; all smiles and couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was grilled and was spot on. Even the egg was not running in grease. If all you want is somewhere to get your head down and a hearty brekkie with a smile before you leave this is fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ditsychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2008

we booked a room for the 19th of july for 1 night only when a family emergency arose. i rang as soon as i could ( 3 o'clock ) to cancel the room.when the lady of the guest house answered the telephone and i told her the situation, she didnt want to hear what i had to say, she was very rude and butted in saying how many people she had turned down. i have travelled alot and i have never been spoken to like that from any of the places where i have stayed!!!! im so glad we never went and i wont be considering to stay the again and i will make sure everybody knows how RUDE they are

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazpzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guesthouse43, owner at The Helmsman, responded to this review, July 23, 2008
I welcome any criticism,as long as it is truthful
The lady complaining claims the time she cancelled was 3pm the actual time recorded on our caller i.d. was 5.07 pm.She also told me she was on call with her work that is why
she was canceling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

This is a reasonably priced B & B on the front, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast good, helpful staff. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness
  • Disliked — No parking
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

I have visited Aberystwyth regularly on business over the last three years and in that time I have not found either a hotel offering a double room for less than £65 or indeed any hotel that warrants a tariff of that price. To be honest, most of the places my wife and I have stayed have been grim and expensive (see my other reviews).

So, it was with some trepidation that I checked into The Helmsman on Marine Terrace, having paid only £50 for a double room. You can imagine my delight, then, to find Room 5, where we were placed, to be a well kept and well appointed double (with extra single bed). The double glazed windows actually closed, a novelty in hotels on Marine Terrace, and the TV worked. There was also a Freeview box and consequently a greater choice of channels. There were damp patches on the ceiling and the décor wasn’t exactly chic, but the carpet and furnishings were clean.
The bathroom wasn’t spectacular and could do with some work, but it was functional and better than bathrooms in several more expensive alternative hotels in the town.
Service was friendly and although I’ve had a better breakfast, the fare wasn't bad. The Marine in particular scores highly here – however you will pay considerably more for a stay at this hotel and are likely to have a poorer standard of room. Whereas breakfast at the Helmsman isn’t of the highest calibre, you are treated to cereal and a full cooked, with a full loaf of toast if required. My wife and I left here certain to return on our next trip.

In sum, the Helmsman is one of the better hotels in Aber and certainly the cheapest. If its value for money you’re after, look no further.

  • Liked — Price - extremely good value for money
  • Disliked — Bathroom wasn't great, but adequate for the price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We were in a room in a new building built behind the main guesthouse. This was OK as this had been explained to us on the phone. However, we were very disappointed in the finish of the room due to the following:-

Light shade was broken - one pane of glass was smashed
Curtain pole and curtains were missing! There were 2 curtain pole brackets, one of which was hanging off the wall, and a third that was missing. There were blinds in the room but the sun streamed through these in the morning.
En suite bathroom - all the toilet and shower pipes were exposed and covered in dust.
Glass bedside table had a layer of dust an inch thick, it had clearly not been dusted for months!
The duvet cover only had 3 poppers remaining, so both corners of the duvet poked out.
When the people in the next room went to the toilet it sounded like they were in our bathroom!
There was only 1 pillow each provided and no instructions on how to use the TV.

So nothing horrendous but just felt unfinished and uncared for and at the price they are charging we felt this was poor value for money.

We put our complaints to the owner on the morning we left and she didn't seem that interested, was not very apologetic. She said we should have said about the light and that they would have fixed that, but how were we to know they weren't aware of that, as the curtain pole was clearly missing as well, so they would have fixed the light but not the curtain pole?

She said she would speak to the cleaner about the dusting but do they never inspect the rooms, to not even notice that the light shade was broken when it was almost at head height due to the ceiling being very low.

Breakfast was OK but the whole experience was a disappointment, we didn't feel like value guests.

Would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — The lack of finish and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggotBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helmsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helmsman

Property: The Helmsman
Address: 43 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of the main promenade, overlooking Cardigan Bay. We are close to all the shops, restaurants and bars. There is free WiFi and also a car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Helmsman Hotel Aberystwyth
The Helmsman Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing