We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and an excellent breakfast”
Review of The Helmsman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Helmsman
Ranked #17 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in Helmsman for 1 night in May. We decided to leave it to luck where we would stay and happily the first place we tried was here and what a result it was. We arrived and we told where our room was - what a view, overlooking the sea, just what we wanted. The breakfast was help yourself continental, followed by a full english, which was all very nice.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, it was a great nights sleep, fantastic views and a delicious breakfast. If we ever return to Aberystwyth, we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsion_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Helmsman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very lovely location, sea and beach view, very clean and staff very kind and helpful. Breakfast service was amazing good value. Thank you for your brilliant service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front west side are a noisy because of the university students. If you require a quiete...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kuli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Initially enquired re reservations by e.mail....Joan phoned me back and had a great chat in relation to types of rooms available and answered my question re secure parking for 7 bikes.... On arrival... Nice greeting, made welcome and enjoyed our stay of just one night....wished we could have stayed longer.....7 male bikers looked after with a hearty cooked breakfast in the morning... Rooms were very clean and tidy with plenty of space! Will definatly be back as the location was great with easy parking! Price was good as well... Many thanks.... Bonus was many of the rooms have a sea view.....the sound of those crashing waves after a long ride, dinner in town followed by a couple of beers... I slept like a baby!

.....

Room Tip: just ask for a sea view......
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andylowe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Second stay here whilst visiting my son who is at Uni. Had a double room to myself. Ensuite bathroom with shower. Hotel was clean & warm. Had a comfy nights sleep. Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper like me, as Aber can get lively at night especially on a Saturday when Wales have beaten England at rugby! Nice breakfast. Central location for town or beach. Park on the street nearby.Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a good experience here. It is a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable Bed and Breakfast. We were very fussy about our breakfast and got just what we wanted. Students noisy at night (Saturday night) on their way home. If this bothers you ask for a back room. Otherwise the front facing rooms are fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Lovely clean and spacious room (no.2) with magnificent sea view.
Breakfast was fine and the location good.
The onsite parking is limited and beware of being blocked in, but there is street parking at the rear. Cash or cheque only for payment.
Aberystwyth is overrun with students and as they had only just started the term were extremely noisy at night. They were still walking and shouting along the road at 4 in the morning! Double glazing would help but not on hot nights when you want the window open. (pack the ear plugs!)
It was enjoyable to sit in the bay window watching everyone passing along the promenade.
We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WendyWoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here whilst visiting the Uni and we were pleasently surprised, the guesthouse is right on the sea front and has parking at the rear.

The rooms were very clean and the beds nice and comfortable, the owners were nice and friendly. The breakfast was also very nice, cereals and full fried, etc.

Be warned debit and credit cards are not accepted you will need to pay by cheque or cash.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bellicusjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helmsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helmsman

Address: 43 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of the main promenade, overlooking Cardigan Bay. We are close to all the shops, restaurants and bars. There is free WiFi and also a car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Helmsman Hotel Aberystwyth
The Helmsman Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing