We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay.”
Review of The Helmsman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Helmsman
Ranked #19 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here whilst visiting the Uni and we were pleasently surprised, the guesthouse is right on the sea front and has parking at the rear.

The rooms were very clean and the beds nice and comfortable, the owners were nice and friendly. The breakfast was also very nice, cereals and full fried, etc.

Be warned debit and credit cards are not accepted you will need to pay by cheque or cash.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bellicusjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have stayed at the Helmsman twice (April and May 2011) and on both occasions have been given Room 2 which is a family room with ensuite bthroom. The room is spacious and has character features, but the best bit is the panaramic view of Cardigan Bay which can be viewed from the armchairs in the bay window of the room. The hotel is very well situated for pubs and restaurants and ony 1 mile from the Uni. Our room was immaculately clean and the white cotton bed linen was spotless. The beds are very comfortable. The ensuite shower room has been built in a corner of the room but is modern and clean. Breakfast is always good and the staff very friendly and obliging - asked if my daughter was vegetarian and offered extra non meat breakfast items. If you want to know something just ask. This B&B is a gem and we will be back again in October.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suze238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed the the helmsman for my graduation and found the location of the hotel fantastic, it is within walking distance to Aberystwyth centre and right on the seafront! Rooms were a little snug but perfectly clean and tidy. The stairs would also take a little bit of concentration after a few drinks! Breakfast was lovely and staff were friendly. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toria1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

While not modern, our room was clean and comfortable, with a lovely water view, and in a great location. We parked on the street and walked everywhere. After a great nights sleep we feasted on a wonderful breakfast, lots of choice, juice, cereals,fruit, yogurt then a well prepared hot meal, all delicious. Our only complaint would be that our hostess was too busy or not interested in talking to us, something we value as overseas visitors, new to an area.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytravellers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Easy place to stay, on the waterfront we had a lovely view! Close to everything, staff very obliging.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lamb_shanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Only stayed for 1 night but was nice, decent sized room, big breakfast!! Parking available on site. Staff very friendly. Would stay again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

First stayed here when advised by university for visit. Since my son has started at Aber' Uni' I would not stay any where else. find the staff very nice and polite, "lovely people" in my view. May not suit a week long stay but for a few day nice place, Great Breakfast !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibengineering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
9.3 mi away
Brynarth Country Guest House
10.2 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helmsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helmsman

Address: 43 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helmsman 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of the main promenade, overlooking Cardigan Bay. We are close to all the shops, restaurants and bars. There is free WiFi and also a car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Helmsman Hotel Aberystwyth
The Helmsman Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing