We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Third Visit”
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Third Visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Excellent room overlooking the sea. As ever the room was spotless. Different from your average hotel and heartily recommended. Superb breakfast and evening meals, wish we had a restaurant like this locally. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisV2461PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    86
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
288
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

There is much to like about this hotel. Beth and Huw have worked especially hard to make the rooms with a high standard of comfort and decor. We stayed in room 8 which is right at the top of the building overlooking the sea. It was nicely laid out with a comfortable bed and seating. The bathroom though small was well equiped and clean. However there was no lift, so this room does require a little energy to get to and I was greatful for Huw's offer to carry my bags to the room. The restaurant I would describe as Bistro style. The food was above average but not what I would call excellent. I did not like the lighting effect in the restaurant as this made the food look weird. The room was also noisy dispite being only able to seat 20 covers. The bar area was used mainly as a meeting point for the waitresses and they basically filled the small space. There was no separate room to relax after the meal (especially if you wanted to get away from the noise in the restaurant!) All in all this hotel is a fantastic standard for the rest of the hotels on the sea front to catch up with. It is modern, clean and has a youthful vitality about it. However there are some draw backs one of which is to ensure that the cleaning team make sure you are out before they start!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King_Kanute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Just returned from a visit to this hotel, this has the wow factor, we had room 6 which had fantastic seaviews and the room itself was superb, the quality of the decor and the fantastic food and service was top quality, i am looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This is a first class place to stay. The friendliness and helpfulness, which is genuine, from the staff, make this place really enjoyable in every respect. Rooms are beautiful, stylish and very clean. The restaurant is superb and without a doubt, the best by far in Aberystwth. Wish we were there now.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrix66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel is such a jewel on the beachfront, standing out amongst the boarded up houses and tired looking hotels. The service was superb from the minute we stepped through the door and the rooms were beautiful. A perfect example of a boutique hotel. We booked this hotel while we attended our daughter's graduation and ate in the restaurant to celebrate. It was the perfect environment. Nothing was too difficult for them. Dealing with my 2 vegetarian daughters is never easy but the chef produced an inspired dish for them even though it was not on the menu. Breakfast was also everything we expected - excellent!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belleverbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Having stayed here I wasn't at all surprised to see that this was No, 1 in Aber. I grew up in Aberystwyth and had summer jobs in a variety of its hotels... This is another world completely from the traditional Aber hotel. I was back 'home' for a birthday celebration, and several of us stayed here. The use of natural materials in the furnishings and decor is very attractive. The hotel clearly has a vision that it's aspiring to, and to my mind it definitely gets there. The room was stylish and comfortable, and the welcome was friendly. Excellent choice at breakfast - there is a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc, and you order your hot breakfast from the menu - I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and my partber had Welsh rarebit. The only very small criticism was that, on a very cold weekend in January, the breakfast room was a bit chilly and draughty. (But our room was cosy througout.)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeafoodQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Aberystwyth is not the most stylish place on earth, nor the easiest to get to, but Gwesty Cymru makes being there an altogether pleasant experience. Athough the rooms without sea view are somewhat unexciting, those with a view have the best views in town. The rooms are stylish, the bathrooms chic and hi-tech with lovely fluffy towels and fantastic showers, the bedlinen is the best you will get. The restaurant is by all accounts the best in Aberystwyth and I suspect the best for miles around. Make sure you book, even if you are staying in the hotel therefore. The downside? Apart from unscintillating Aberystwyth itself (Abereiron just along the coast is much more attractive), the hotel corridors are a little pokey and there are lots of steps and no lift. But that's the price you pay for staying in a listed building. I'd happily recommend this small hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitternwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Property: Gwesty Cymru
Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing