We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming seaside hotel in a lively Welsh town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming seaside hotel in a lively Welsh town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gwesty Cymru is a fantastic small (8-room) hotel across from a seasie boardwalk in Aberystwyth, Wales (mid-Wales), a lively town with an old castle, a university and the Welsh National Library and several great restaurants. Our hosts were attentive, the rooms are delightfully modern, with amazing upscale design features and artwork. The hotel has its own restaurant on the ground floor which is in itself an attraction for guests and for the locals. The university wines and dines candidates it is recruiting at the hotel. Walking distance 93-4 blocks) from the rail station downtown. The downtown itself is a great walking around area -- it even features a small Waterstone's bookstore and a number of lively coffee shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNMBAJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    82
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
288
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in a very large room with a very large bed and bathroom. Gwesty Cymru has been furnished to they highest of standards - it is on the pricey side for aber, but well worth it. Breakfast is excellent and all the staff are very helpful. My only gripe would be the lack of parking anywhere in aber but having studied in aber 5 years ago i knew this, and the hotel does offer parking at an additional charge.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view - the aberystwyth sunsets are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

It has the well-deserved top-spot in Aberystwyth hotel-land. Well-run, clean and well-appointed about sums it up. It also has a rather good restaurant that goes with it. We had a spacious room and large bathroom on the second floor. It also came with a sea view which must be even more spectacular in a Force 8 gale in January. The only thing I would caution about is the flights of stairs to be negotiated. I would not like to have a dodgy knee whilst living here but that's a small thing. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

From the outside, it doesn't look great. But step inside and it is a fantastic luxury hotel with all the refinements you could want.
The restaurant serves truly amazing food.
The bar has a great array of whiskey.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fudgepucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip.

Very close to the station and the high street. As this was a business trip we did not arrive till 7:30pm. We stayed in Feb and they had some building work going on outside.

The doors are a tiny bit of a squeeze but it is fine. The lady at the reception was really welcoming and chatty, not too much. Very professional. As we had reserved dinner we was asked if it was ok to push back the time by 15mins. This was not a problem.

I have the Green room on the first floor. Very clean, again the receptionist showed me where everything was, nicely furnished with ironing board, iron, hairdryer, tv, tea making facilities etc. I took advantage of their robes and slippers :)

Bathroom was lovely, however for me a overhead shower was not good as on the day of departure I didnt want to get my hair wet.

Resturant: Great food, very cozy downstairs. Beware if you are tall as you may bang your head! Breakfast starts at 8am and was quick and yummy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip, I have previously stay in the Conrad, I must say that this hotel is a cut above the rest, it's a very different hotel right on the seafront, spotlessly clean, the room was large and comfy , bathroom amazing, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the only little moan, no room service, breakfast doesn't start until 8am which for me was an half an hour to late and the same for reception as that doesn't open until 8, but as I say the pros far far outweighs the 2 tiny cons.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The larger, sea-view rooms at the Gwesty cost about double the average room price in other hotels in Aber. However, they are worth the extra investment.
Large, beautifully appointed and decorated rooms with uninterrupted sea-views, great showers with accurate temperature control and copious volumes of water make the Gwesty the only hotel in Aber worth staying at.
The bar / restaurant area feels a little cramped, but if the breakfast was anything to go by, the food is very decent.
However, with only 8 rooms, you normally need to plan well ahead to get in.
If you can't get into a Gwesty room then stay somewhere outside the town and don't bother with any of the other seafront establishments if you can avoid them.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank strudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Property: Gwesty Cymru
Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing