We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable B&B, will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bodalwyn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable B&B, will be back”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I chose here after reading other reviews, and wasn't disappointed. Friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
87
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

As an Aber graduate returning for a friend's wedding I was not disappointed. Bodalwyn has an excellent position and is very convenient for both Consti and town. Hilary and Clive are excellent hosts, warm and welcoming and the breakfasts were yummy. Our room was spacious, well maintained, nicely decorated, a comfy bed and excellent shower. I would definately go back. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LegalEagleHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We've just returned from our stay in Aber and at Bodwlayn's and were very impressed. We were returning for a student reunion and wanted somewhere comfortable and pleasant.

Fantastic, friendly service from both Hilary and Clive who were very efficent in replying to e-mails and answered any questions we had. We were made to feel very welcome and greeted warmly.

Our room was fantastic, beautifully furnished, comfortable and with loads of storage space. Two comfortable arm chairs were provided as well which was a nice touch! Everything was very clean, the bathroom was immacuate! Plenty of towels and the shower was lovely, plenty of hot water and a nice powerful jet (unlike some places where you can barely get a trickle out).

Lovely breakfasts, well cooked and tasty and nothing was too much trouble. Food was served very quickly and hot.

We were a 30 second walk from the prom and the sea (which we could see out of our window) and really close to town and all the local amenities.

I can not fault anything from Bodalwyn's and would not hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becca2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed at the Bodalwyn last week. Room was very nice, price reasonable, and staff helpful. Would recommend over some of the more expensive hotels and guest houses on the Prom which may be up to £30 more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penyderyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed in room 8, right at the top of the house, there was a glimpse of sea from our window. The house is not right on the seafront but is only a short walk away from the promenade, shopping area and cliffside railway. Clive gave us a friendly welcome and carried our bags up the 3 flights of stairs. The room was clean and roomy with a flat screen TV, we appreciated the 2 lounge chairs, giving you somewhere to sit other than on the bed. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and bottled water were supplied. The bathroom was clean and modern with plenty of hot water and GOOD SIZED TOWELS ... which we have found to be few and far between in the UK. Breakfast was served in the sunny conservatory at individual tables. We stayed on a Saturday night in summer and there was some street noise from young people making their way home in the early hours of the morning, but that's to be expected in a seaside university town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Us2Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We only stayed one night at the Bodalwyn Guest House and thought it was lovely. Hilary was very friendly and even assisted with our luggage to our room (No 4). The room was lovely and a great size with period features, including the most beautiful fireplace. We thought the two arm chairs at the foot of the bed so we can sit and watch the telly was a lovely touch! There was a fantastic power shower in the ensuite with all the amenities supplied.

We were able to park (free) directly across the road at the "Clinic" without any hassle, which was very welcome as parking far away would of been a bit of a pain with our luggage.

Breakfast was lovely in the "conservatory" and we felt very much at home! Could of easily stayed a few more nights!!

You won't be disappointed staying at this lovely, homely and very clean Guest House! Aberystwyth is a lovely "olde worldy" seaside town with lots of history and lots to explore there and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The place is the cleanest i have ever seen. The owners are gently ,friendly and imaginative people.
The situation is really close to the sea and Aberystwyth Pier, car park is very easy on weekends and they have a good breakfast in the morning on a charming outside room.
For me was an excellent experience and if I could i will always came back to Bodalwyn, unfortunately I live about 2000 km away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toneteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodalwyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodalwyn Guest House

Property: Bodalwyn Guest House
Address: Bodalwyn Queens Avenue, Aberystwyth SY23 2EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodalwyn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bodalwyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodalwyn Guest House Hotel Aberystwyth
Bodalwyn Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing