We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ripped of but dont know why!!!!”
Review of Ty Belgrave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ty Belgrave House
Ranked #32 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ripped of but dont know why!!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

booked belgrave house for one night to visit daughter who is at aber Uni, chose this because we wanted a sea view room.and the Glengower etc we have stayed in before were full (as it was open day for the uni) .we love to sit and watch the sea so paid £105 a night for their luxury room with bath robes etc !!! we were 30 mins away from Aber when we had a call from the Belgrave to say there had been a leak in the room and AT NO EXTRA COST TO US we were being moved to the four seasons one of their sister hotels....this hotel was more in land and so no sea view, we didnt have much of a choice....the room at the four seasons had been just decorated and was nice BUT it was not what we booked and in fact on looking it up was chaeaper per night that the belgrave , yes by only £2 but cheaper and not what we booked ,we now see from reviews this a is a regular scam by these hotels, and it really does let aber down , someone should do something. if we didnt have a sea room then i would not pay over £100 to have a back room that was noisy at the four seasons, i would have booked a good but cheap bed and breakfast...........why we were treated like this i cant work out, it clearly it is a scam and i for one will not be going back to any of their hotels or recommending them .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spider56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    33
    36
    61
See reviews for
43
73
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have recently stayed at this hotel having been upgraded from the room I originally booked at the Four Seasons, their sister hotel.

When we arrived we were able to park right outside. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. First impression of the hotel was OK with modern decor. Our room was very small but had a seaview and again on first impression was OK. The en suite however was a big let down. It was impossibly small and the sliding door was ill fitting, the toilet seat was loose and the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall, the floor tiles were cracked and behind the toilet looked dirty. In fact it was all a bit grubby including the shower screen and there was mold on the tiles top, bottom and on the border tiles and the shower head was clogged with limescale. Yuch!! The hot water was dangerously hot and I burnt my hand twice and there was nowhere to put any toiletries.

The bed needed a new mattress as you could feel all the springs and was quite painful. The the paint on the windows was all peeling. The website claimed that fluffy white towels and robes where supplied there were no robes and the towels were certainly not white or fluffy, just a bit grey and stained.

On the positive side there was tea & coffee, biscuits and water supplied. Breakfast was OK, plentiful and fresh although it claimed to be sourced local where possible but the only evidence of this was welsh yoghurts. The sausages were saveloys.

Aberystwyth is a lovely town with plenty to see and do in and around the area and is a great tourist destination. I just hope that all the tourists coming into Wales read these reviews and choose to stay somewhere a bit nicer. There are 3 hotels in this group Ty Belgrave, Four Seasons and the Queensbridge. Ty Belgrave is certainly not a four star hotel and is not good value for money. I can only recommend that you check out the other hotels before you book. We won't be staying at any of them.

Room Tip: Good view of sea and pier from the sea view rooms but noisy if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandemonium186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Staff are rude. Rooms are small. Heating did not work despite the insistence (yeld at us from our door) of the owner. Bathrooms are gross. Beds are tough and doonas are very thin. Furniture is worn and stained. No fire exits. Unsafe and unbearable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCuriosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwood, Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Belgrave for 3 nights and had a great time. Having read a couple of the reviews on here I was a little dubious but my worries were completely unfounded. We recieved a very warm welcome and were very happy with our sea- view room. The breakfast was lovely- buffet style and was pleantiful and fresh for the whole two hours it was available (it was 9.15 one day when we had breakfast and it was as fresh as at 8am). The room was clean and inviting and the staff were really through in their servicing of the room. Tea, coffe, biscuits, bottled water were replenished daily, towels changed and shampoo/ shower gel provided each day. The location was superb, really central. If you were being REALLY picky, yes, the room was on the small side and the breakfast room a little cramped, but the excellent service, attention to detail in the rooms and location more than made up for this. Would we stay again? Definately!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed with my 8 year old daughter in the twin room (room 4). We had a warm welcome and the staff were smiling and helpful throughout our 4 night stay. The room had a brilliant sea view and there was plenty to do locally. The room had comfy beds and a flat screen TV (although I didn't see the advertised bath gowns) and was tastefully and minimally decorated. The decor throoughout the B and B seemed fresh and tasteful too. It wasn't large but it was adequate.The shower room was very small though.
Breakfast was fine. It was a buffet style but hot food was regularly checked and added and was well-prepared. Once people were staying in the room above, we could hear them using their bathroom. It was noisy on Friday and Saturday night due to people on the Prom but I cannot see what the Belgrave can do about that. Likewise, parking is a bit of a nightmare as the hotel has no parking so you have to take your chances with the street parking - but they never claimed any differently.
In short, we had a very pleasant stay but with one night at £85, one at £90, one at £95 and one at £105, it wasn't cheap. Presumably it is better value out of season.
I would stay here again but equally, I would look at others in the area too,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night with our two children and we were given the family (loft) room which was fine if you are ok with 3 flights of stairs and not a lot of head room. On the plus side the decor was all new and the view was fantastic! Breakfast was good but the breakfast room was very small and felt cramped when other guests started arriving.
Overall though it was good value and great for an overnight - would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate19Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed in a twin room overlooking the sea. The room was clean, comfortable, and a great value for the price. The hotel staff was also very friendly and eager to provide assistance when needed. They provided me with extra towels as well as restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was also quite good. I'm surprised by the negative reviews. I guess it depends on what your expectations are, but for the view we had and the price we paid, it exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: As for a room with a Sea view. So nice to hear the waves crashing at night. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.3 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Llwynygog Guest House
Llwynygog Guest House
#13 of 36 in Aberystwyth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Belgrave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Belgrave House

Property: Ty Belgrave House
Address: Y Prom 24 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Belgrave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ty Belgrave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Belgrave House Hotel Aberystwyth
Ty Belgrave House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing