We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location!”
Review of Ty Belgrave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ty Belgrave House
Ranked #32 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was looking for a bed for the night in Wales on a sunny Sunday night and decided (rashly) to go to the front in Aberystwyth and look for a likely place. The sun was out and the sea was like mill pond and "Ty Belgrave" stood out because of its fresh paint job and sparkling voile curtains (other establishments were a bit dowdy). AND there was free parking outside on the front overlooking the sea. AND lastly they had a single room for £55.
The room was small but with all you needed, good bed linen and a real welsh tweed throw - which was a nice touch. There was an old fashioned sash window which could be opened and there was the best sea view you could wish for.
The room décor was better than the stairs. The receptionist was helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was very ordinary but OK.
I had no problem with noise, and would recommend this as a value for money decent small hotel

Room Tip: I had a single room at the top of the hotel, which was a bit of a climb is a climb worries you. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    33
    36
    61
See reviews for
43
73
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having booked the hotel before looking at Trip Advisor I approached this with some trepidation. Were the rooms really that small, unclean, were the breakfasts that bad and was the noise outside such that sleeping was so difficult?

Well, not a bit of it. This b&b is great value for money if you moderate your expectations a bit: ie you're booking a room in a b&b in aberystwyth not a suite at the Sheraton. The rooms are clean, the bathroom may be a bit on the small side but it's immaculately clean and has a great shower. Beds are very comfortable. There's flat screen TV which some chains don't have yet. And free wi-fi. Breakfasts are traditional and plentiful and tasty to go with it. Yes, the breakfast room is a bit on the small side and tables for two could be a bit bigger but this really is nitpicking. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Service is good. And unlike some major chain hotels things like coffee, milk, water, shower gel etc are replenished daily. We were right at the front for four nights and had none of the outside noise other guests complained of.

Above all, the hotel is in a great location, the sea view is excellent and there are many pub/restaurant/coffee options within 2-3 minutes walk.Great promenade and cliff walks in easy reach too. And handy for the railway station for day trips. Would definitely stay again.

In fairness, I checked the hotel's own visitor's book while I was there. While most guests tend to my view of the establishment clearly, like on Trip Advisor, others have had a less satisfactory experience. How to call it? I'd just say that if you book a b&b in Aberystwyth and keep that mindset then you're likely to come away having enjoyed it and thinking it was real value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed 10 June for 1 night, Reception lady welcoming and not sent elsewhere (a worry after reading other reports). Had room No6 2nd floor at back, not very nice view and room rather small with large bathroom. Room clean but no space to move around without crawling over bed. Noise from boiler in bathroom very annoying all night. Room clean but very small with terrible view. On the upside breakfast very good. Would we stay again? yes but only if nowhere else, no parking no bar open,overall not worth the price of room.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 6 unless by yourself and have ear plugs. Do not know about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

i booked this hotel for one evening as a birthday present for my partner.....what a mistake that was! i booked a delux room....well if that was one i would have hated to see the other rooms. we where in room 10 which was on the ground floor just as you walked in, the single glazing was cracked and there was an all mighty draft through the window. the carpet was filthy, door furniture was miss-matching, doors had a good level of dust on them, door was damaged, there was a glass table in there that the glass wasnt even fixed...not very safe at all. there was no mirror by the hair dryer/dressing table, which for us girls is not ideal but very necessary! furninture was grubby looking. As for the bathroom.......you couldn't moved in there, you had to rest your arm on the sink to use the toilet. shower was disapointing, toilet seat was loose. breakfast was ok i suppose but the whole stay just stank of cheapness......i paid £105 for this room, what a waste of money.....would have paid £60 tops. RUBBISH AND SPOILT OUR STAY....AVOID!!

Room Tip: Dont bother with any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerys j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Llanrwst, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Walking up to the b n b we firstly noticed the frontage which was well maintained unlike a lot of the b n bs in aber. They were also having new carpets fitted somewhere in the b n b, reinvestment in your property is always a good sign. We were welcomed by a very friendly gentlemen at reception who gave us our key. We had been allocated room 1. A lovely plush room with neutral tones overlooking the sea. Nice sized tv, ample t n coffee facilities, clean bathroom, lovely sprung mattress bed. The only negatives in the room were the pillows too thin for me and the fact the bed is two singles put together but i must stress these are only very minor minors! Breakfast was served in the basement in a nicely decorated room, although a buffet style breakfast the lady ensured our toast, eggs and bacon were cooked fresh. Only other thing i would liked to have seen were some yoghurts! All in all a very nice experience at ty belgrave. As a regular visitor to aberywstwyth would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay as part of our 5 days in wales and upon arrival was welcomed by a friendly lady on reception. Overall first impressions were ok but very limited lounge/bar area! No cold beers and the lady serving did not know what they sold. The room was ok overlooking sea view ( Room 4) but the bathroom was poor and needed a good clean! The room was very cold and they seem to turn the radiators down when they attended to service the room. Breakfast was poor, left to your own devices once you have had Tea/coffee served. For the bad points listed for £80 per night we had fantastic views which were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband was treating me to a few days away and unfortunately decided on this hotel for the first night. It looked fairly promising from the outside but quickly went downhill once we reached the room. The twin beds had no headboards, the carpet was not very clean, the bathroom had the toilet roll holder hanging off the wall and again was not overly clean. Need I go on! Breakfast was apalling. For the hefty price tag (for what it was) of £75 we expected a freshly cooked breakfast. Nope! A buffet breakfast which was barely warm let alone hot. The waitress bought us coffee and spilt it over the table and said sorry. We expected her to come back to wipe it up but that was the last we saw of her!

The only reason that we gave this a more than one score is because of the lady that booked us in. She couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. However, this was not the owners, but somebody standing in for them!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigntonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
176 reviews
9.2 mi away
Brynarth Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Belgrave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Belgrave House

Property: Ty Belgrave House
Address: Y Prom 24 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Belgrave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ty Belgrave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Belgrave House Hotel Aberystwyth
Ty Belgrave House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing