We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great get away for couples and families”
Review of Queensbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queensbridge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed May 8, 2014

our stay at Aberystwyth was a may day bank holiday over night stay , Sunday til Monday myself or my partner have never been to this seaside place it was a very laid back place there was a small yet suitable pier / arcade area for the nippers .. night life was enjoyable we felt safe and welcome in the local public houses , many places to eat at varied prices to suit all pockets , Greek . Italian , quality steak houses , burger bars . fried chicken , even traditional old fish and chip shops .. great ice cream parlours .... etc , etc the hotel queens bridge was situated on the promenade / sea front we only needed to come out of the hotel cross the very quiet road and the sea / beach was situated cracking venue for couples and families highly recommended the pier and arcade / all shops , 24 hour spar serving hot and cold food and drinks literally 7 minute walk from the hotel ... the room we stayed in was absolutely great value for the money we paid we had a sea / beach front view room , very clean , en- suit room very quiet fantastic nights sleep .with a very good quality breakfast self serve ... we will without any doubt frequent this sea side place more than once / same hotel many times in the future ... highly recommended ..

Mr & Mrs price

Room Tip: ask for a sea view for any size room you book , you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

My friend and i stayed for a long weekend over easter,short notice from booking.com.We had lovely views over the sea, plenty of room,clean and tidy and considering the amount of guests staying very quiet.The owner was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was plentiful.Hope to stay again soon.

Room Tip: request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My family and I decided to have a last Easter break after original plans had changed. We decided to choose The Queensbridge purely because they could accommodate all five of us (two adults and three children)

I read reviews written by other visitors AFTER booking and saw news articles on the internet. But you know what? We had the best time in Aberystwyth and the owner(s) and staff at The Queens bridge Hotel could not have been more polite, friendly and herlpful.

Don't get me wrong, The Queensbridge is no palace and it doesn't pretend to be. You get what you pay for. Our room was clean, warm, plenty of towels, even toiletries-something I did not expect and it had a lovely modern ensuite bathroom.

The only gripe I have is that breakfast is not long enough. Breakfast is served between 0800hrs and 0915hrs including the weekend where I would expect breakfast period to be extended. I can only assume that other bed and breakfasts in the area are similar to avoid stragglers. I don't know.

Would we go back? Yes. Its on the promenade, next to Constitution Hill and a short walk to the town. Lots of rock pools around for the kids to find crabs, anemones, shrimp etc. A good time had by all

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The welcome was luke warm, and we were told that the balance owing had already been taken off the card.This was irritating, as we were splitting costs. We were directed to the stairs, and were told the lift was out of order- it seems this was had been the case for a while as previous reviewers had mentioned it. Two rather mature women battled with the stairs, fire door and luggage. The breakfast was good and extensive, but we did notice that the same sausages were dished up on the second day! The front page of the local newspaper was disconcerting as the hotel proprieter had just paid a large fine for various misdemeanors relating to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were in the area and chose this hotel as the first one we saw with vacancies. Received a warm reception from the owner who invited us to inspect the room before deciding to stay. Room was very spacious with bay window overlooking the sea.
Yes the place could do with a bit of touching up but was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast was a plentiful buffet. All in all a very nice hotel.
We intent to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, checked in after a really long day, was working locally. Room was OK, dated but hey it's in an old Victorian house, had a pint down the road on the recommendation of the owner? Barman? Not quite sure who he was, anyway returned, comfy bed, was fast asleep and then about 4am the fire alarm went off, perfect. So went outside and some other people were there, apparently it had gone off the night before as well, alarm was turned off after about an hour, by that time it was time for me to get up anyway. It was a false alarm by the way. Not a great impression tbh.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We fancied a pre-Christmas break and I am really glad we ignored some of the reviews on here because from start to finish our stay at the Queensbridge was just brilliant. It's a very old building and a bit rambling, but to us that was part of its charm. Our room was just brilliant - large, airy, spotlessly clean with a huge bay window where we could sit and watch the wonderful waves. Fell asleep listening to them crashing just outside. Facilities in the room were great, hot water and plenty of it - loads of branded hot drinks on the tray and the bottled water was a nice touch too. Easy access to the free Wifi (unlike some places who take great delight in hiding the code from you). The hotel is dog friendly - we bought along Molly the Collie who had a great time too ... just a few paces from the foot of the cliff path and north beach so pre-bedtime walk was no problem...

Breakfast served in the basement was perfect. Lovely young lady called Alicia was very helpful and pleasant. Again - all quality ingredients, nice coffee, unlimited fresh juice, loads of branded cereals and a good selection of breakfast items from the buffet, accompanied by plentiful toast and a varied selection of jams and marmalades.

Will definitely return - we love Aberystwyth and the surrounding area (especially out of season) and would recommend the Queensbridge to anyone wanting an ideally placed, superb value for money base. Wish we could have stayed longer but it's Christmas Eve tomorrow and that turkey isn't going to cook itself!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely bay window overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STONECROFT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbridge Hotel

Address: Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $73 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional-style two-star-rated hotel boasting wonderful sea views throughout. The Queensbridge is nestled under the shadows of the impressive Constitution Hill on the promenade in Aberystwyth and has 15 en-suite rooms with lift access to all four floors. Each room is equipped with tea & coffee-making facilities, television and daily towels. The relaxing lounge and bar area allows you to wile away the hours with a good book or simply watch the waves come and go. The hotel has recently been refurbished and offers a good selection of single, double and family rooms all reasonably priced. Please note that even though we have a lift here, the hotel is not fully accessible to those with a disability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Queensbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbridge Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing