We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to standard”
Review of Queensbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queensbridge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not quite up to standard”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The welcome was luke warm, and we were told that the balance owing had already been taken off the card.This was irritating, as we were splitting costs. We were directed to the stairs, and were told the lift was out of order- it seems this was had been the case for a while as previous reviewers had mentioned it. Two rather mature women battled with the stairs, fire door and luggage. The breakfast was good and extensive, but we did notice that the same sausages were dished up on the second day! The front page of the local newspaper was disconcerting as the hotel proprieter had just paid a large fine for various misdemeanors relating to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    38
    32
    39
See reviews for
38
63
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were in the area and chose this hotel as the first one we saw with vacancies. Received a warm reception from the owner who invited us to inspect the room before deciding to stay. Room was very spacious with bay window overlooking the sea.
Yes the place could do with a bit of touching up but was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast was a plentiful buffet. All in all a very nice hotel.
We intent to return later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, checked in after a really long day, was working locally. Room was OK, dated but hey it's in an old Victorian house, had a pint down the road on the recommendation of the owner? Barman? Not quite sure who he was, anyway returned, comfy bed, was fast asleep and then about 4am the fire alarm went off, perfect. So went outside and some other people were there, apparently it had gone off the night before as well, alarm was turned off after about an hour, by that time it was time for me to get up anyway. It was a false alarm by the way. Not a great impression tbh.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We fancied a pre-Christmas break and I am really glad we ignored some of the reviews on here because from start to finish our stay at the Queensbridge was just brilliant. It's a very old building and a bit rambling, but to us that was part of its charm. Our room was just brilliant - large, airy, spotlessly clean with a huge bay window where we could sit and watch the wonderful waves. Fell asleep listening to them crashing just outside. Facilities in the room were great, hot water and plenty of it - loads of branded hot drinks on the tray and the bottled water was a nice touch too. Easy access to the free Wifi (unlike some places who take great delight in hiding the code from you). The hotel is dog friendly - we bought along Molly the Collie who had a great time too ... just a few paces from the foot of the cliff path and north beach so pre-bedtime walk was no problem...

Breakfast served in the basement was perfect. Lovely young lady called Alicia was very helpful and pleasant. Again - all quality ingredients, nice coffee, unlimited fresh juice, loads of branded cereals and a good selection of breakfast items from the buffet, accompanied by plentiful toast and a varied selection of jams and marmalades.

Will definitely return - we love Aberystwyth and the surrounding area (especially out of season) and would recommend the Queensbridge to anyone wanting an ideally placed, superb value for money base. Wish we could have stayed longer but it's Christmas Eve tomorrow and that turkey isn't going to cook itself!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely bay window overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STONECROFT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlech
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, Rooms a bit 60's but hey, they were clean, bed nice and comfy, plenty of everything.

The breakfast was fantastic they made sure we had enough of everything, they alone deserve a 5*
This is the first 5* review I've ever given having stayed in some Hotels who charge five times the amount I paid at Queensbridge

Hope to stay there again next year.
.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I wasn't completely disappointed with my stay at the Queensbridge, but I can't be very positive about it either.

We made a reservation for six of us across a number of rooms through Booking.com, however we later wanted to change the configuration of the rooms. We rang the hotel and they said they could do all that for us and made the change and we didn't need to contact Booking.com. On the morning of our booking, we received a call from the Hotel reminding us, only for them to have no clue about the changes we had made. When we explained it had been confirmed when we rang before, we were then told that the Manager had made a note of it and forgotten, and they were now full, so nothing they could do.

When we arrived, one of the rooms we had originally booked and had confirmed was a triple, however there were only two beds in it. After complaining, we expected this would be rectified while we were out for the evening, however upon returning it wasn't and two people had to share a bed, which was far from ideal.

The following day we complained about the triple again, only for the woman on front desk to say: "Oh, did you want another mattress, well its in another hotel at the moment....". That was a disgraceful comment, given that the room was booked and advertised as a triple, not just a mattress on the floor that wasn't even there! She eventually realised though that there was now a room free, so we could just have that instead.

The hotel itself looks incredibly dated and a bit cheap with pieces of paper for room numbers and such. The Seafront rooms looked a bit more grand than the ones at the back of the building The Dining Room is in the basement, which is incredibly soulless given there is a fantastic sea view upstairs. Breakfast was average, not good, but not bad, you could see they had made an effort at least.

Negatives:

- In the morning the shower ran out of hot water, so the person I was sharing a room with had to take a cold shower.
- We had a total of 4 rooms and none of them were made up during the day while we were out.
- Not that I needed it, but the Elevator doesn't work.
- The WiFi didn't work. The girl on Reception said it barely ever worked for her, which makes you wonder why if they know that, they have never bothered to do anything about it.
- We were woken up at 6:00am by some kind of Alarm set on the television. Presumably something that a previous guest had set, but its the kind of thing housekeeping staff should be looking out for.

Room Tip: Get a Seafront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was put in room 5 and whilst I didn't have a sea view, it was a lovely quite and peaceful room. I was surprised how nice the room was especially as the reception wasn't brilliant. Staff were friendly and overall the experience was good but I wouldn't say brilliant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
428 reviews
11.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
152 reviews
3.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbridge Hotel

Property: Queensbridge Hotel
Address: Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Queensbridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional-style two-star-rated hotel boasting wonderful sea views throughout. The Queensbridge is nestled under the shadows of the impressive Constitution Hill on the promenade in Aberystwyth and has 15 en-suite rooms with lift access to all four floors. Each room is equipped with tea & coffee-making facilities, television and daily towels. The relaxing lounge and bar area allows you to wile away the hours with a good book or simply watch the waves come and go. The hotel has recently been refurbished and offers a good selection of single, double and family rooms all reasonably priced. Please note that even though we have a lift here, the hotel is not fully accessible to those with a disability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Queensbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbridge Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing