We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
borth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointed again”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

third visit yesterday to have lunch. Very busy for a pub food menu at restaraunt prices.
The "new potato" option on the menu turned out to resemble tasteless tinned potatoes.The salad comprised one slice of cucumber, some dry lettuce leaves and two of the smallest cherry tomatoes I have ever seen.

To cap it all the one meal was delivered about ten minutes after the others.

This place needs competition!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhrBorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    117
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
82
75
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hotel is small and quaint, and very quiet. Great views of Cardigan bay. If you are looking for a quiet get away, this is the hotel for you! Staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was pleasant and had all the services you need for a relaxing stay, I will certainly be back. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomansland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Check in easy and no problem. Threadbare, dirty carpet on stairs. Dirty hand prints and scuffs all around the room (32). Particularly filthy around light switches, room card reader etc Grubby, unkempt, depressing look overall. Cobwebs. Old fashioned decor and soft furnishings. Comfortable bed. Grouting missing and what was there was dirty. Taps broken. Panels in the bathroom warped and broken. Mismatched fraying towels. Bar staff slow, chatting amongst themselves but very pleasant when they did serve, drinks reasonably priced. Didn't eat. Restaurant / bar area felt like a canteen. All this for £90 a night ! If I were paying £40 this would be too much. Plenty of high standard B+Bs in Aberystwyth at much more sensible prices. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: I have no tip that could help travellers choose a good room because I would not recommend the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Lovely food and friendly staff! Love the new layout of the restaurant, relaxed yet quite posh! really nice atmosphere and the chips are beautiful. Really handy car park, easy to find and great for meeting family or friends ,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had arranged an 80th birthday party for my mother and had to arrange everything over the phone and by email. I was happy with all the arrangements, the room was warm and attractive and they had done all that I had asked them to. The food was hot when served and tasted quite good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merchpencaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have stayed here before and disliked the restaurant area which was more like a cafe type area. Lot of investment in the restaurant now- new bar, new tables and chairs, leather sofas, new bar area etc
Rooms are clean but slightly dated. Stair carpet lets the hotel down badly as it is visibly threadbare and the shower head was filthy which was a pity. More positives than negatives though.
B&B on a weekday cost me just £70 which is pretty good. Breakfast was really good- piping hot with quality ingredients

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suitcasecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have stayed here for work on a number of occasions. Am getting more and more disheartened with this place so will not be staying again. The room is ok, clean but needs a little smartening up. The food was very disappointing and the service was patchy. Breakfast took too long. I realise it's cooked to order, but that means please get me coffee as soon as possible and take my order quickly so the kitchen can get started on it. Although it was quiet, they preferred cleaning and clearing tables before looking after the customer. I was there for two days and the only person to smile at me was the lady vacuuming the stairs. I didn't receive a smile from anybody at either breakfast or evening meal. They really look like they would rather be somewhere else. Well so would I!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanSWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.8 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
10.9 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel

Property: Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Address: Parc y Llyn Retail Park, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel. We have 36 Luxury Bedrooms, Lounge & Conference Room, fully Licensed Cafe Bar & Restaurant and 100 parking spaces. Whether it's for business or a place to relax and unwind, you'll find our facilities and dedicated staff second to none. Our philosophy is simple: commitment to provide the very best traditional cuisine and facilities where guests enjoy a dedicated professional service for the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberystwyth Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing