We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience many times over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have stayed here so many times and for so long that I lost count from 2005 till date. The rooms are spacious, clean and well-equipped. The staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is freshly cooked and hot. The restaurant is very good with generous portions. The free WiFi works well in the rooms overlooking the playgrounds but is patchy in the front side - but it works and is free unlike the exorbitantly priced hotels who charge extra for WiFi. The rooms are well insulated and quiet even though it is near a round-about. The proximity to the McDonalds and the Morrisons is an advantage. Though it seems a bit far away from the city centre, the walk is pleasant. You can get a taxi in less than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the playfields have a good view and a good WiFi connection. I usually avoid the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Faridur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 334 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

It was quiet, it was clean, bed was a lttle too hard for me but otherwise no complaints. Staff were helful and friendly, breakfast was fresh cooked to order and came very quickly - and was delicious. Ate in restaurant on second night, good burger and home-made chips. Quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanSWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night only. We aren't particularly fussy, as we weren't planning to spend a lot of time in our room,and thank goodness for that. When we arrived, the reception was unmanned. After waiting for over 10 minutes, we wandered into the restaurant area and found somone to locate the receptionist as we wanted to check in. A young man arrived on reception, but gave no apology for keeping us waiting. After checking in, we went up to our room to find the lumpiest duvet you have ever seen! Bed was quite comfy tho, despite this. After a good evening out with friends, we returned looking forward to a good night's sleep. Unfortunately we were woken early Sunday morning by clanking pipes - really noisy and frequent, so no chance of getting back to sleep. We weren't impressed with the restaurant either. There was a good choice of food breakfast, but when our toast was brought out, the lady who brought it to the table had her hand firmly placed over the toast holding it onto the rack - not very hygenic! she also dropped a knife from another table onto the floor and when she picked it up, she put it onto my boyfriend's plate. We would not recommend staying here if you want a nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Having stayed here for two nights (four of us had booked two rooms) in early July we left thinking - were the owners/management on holiday, as there seemed to be no-one around at anytime to check how the hotel was run. Off to bad start when trying to check-in as the reception was unmanned. Having waited a good few minutes I went into the restaurant/bar and the young man at the bar told the receptionist we were waiting. She was chatting and having a hot drink with the other staff. I felt I'd interrupted her tea break and she came to reception a few minutes later - presumably having finished her tea! Whenever we flushed the loo in our ground floor room (no. 6?) the plumbing system made a great clunking noise and the taps on the washbasin vibrated. When I mentioned the problem at the reception I was told it could be because the room hadn't been used recently but he'd mention it to their maintenance man. Nothing was done during our stay, and perhaps for sound reasons, but it would have been nice if somebody had explained and apologised for this. Having returned I emailed to the hotel expressing my dissatisfaction but have not received any acknowledgment for them. Just about sums it up really. I don't really blame the staff (most of whom were quite pleasant) but the poor management. At a price of £90 per room I would expect much better service. Also, be warned that if you book on-line to receive a discount payment is taking immediately although this isn't clearly shown on their website. When I phoned the reception about this she said she would mention it to the 'management', so they do exist!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Booked here for the night before our son's graduation. Asked specifically for a quiet room -and got the worse night's sleep ever! The family room (I think it was 29) had a huge extractor fan attached to the outside of the wall and was turning off and on all night! We got no sleep at all.
Was moved to two rooms the next day and they were very nice, slept like logs.
When booking out the next day the hotel wanted to charge us for the two rooms from the night before (£90 & £80 if I remember correctly) plus £120 for the family room! We refused and in the end paid £120 for both rooms plus £65 for the family room. The Receptionist said this was the best she could do. Very poor customer services.
Guests should be warned about the fan, if we had been told we wouldn't have booked the room. We had even stated in an email we needed a quiet room.
Will say though that the breakfast was very good with friendly service
We emailed when we got home and the owners did refund the £65 for the family room.

Room Tip: Avoid the famly room with the huge extractor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meettheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed for one night passing through Aber but would have happy to stay longer. Nicley fresh cooked breakfast a real rarity these days in most hotels. Clean pleasent and comfortable what more do you want the staff tended to talk amongst themselves in some sort of language but so what i dont need to liaten to them do I. They do the job and do it well Ok it may be a little overpriced but if you dont want to pay the price dont go there in the first place.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were supposed to stay here for a night during grad week but when we turned up we were told that they had let our room go earlier in the day to the tourist board. They said that they had tried to phone us once in March to confirm we were coming and had left a message - now unless we are living in the Bermuda Triangle this never happened, there is always someone at home and we have an answering machine so there is no way we could have missed it! In any case one phone call 4 months earlier is a disgrace, especially when we had confirmation emails and the like, why no email or letter or even another phone call (if they ever even made the 1st one)? The owner was rude, did not apologise once, offered no help to find alternative accommodation, and told us that she did not care about her customers. Will NEVER stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LiMCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
2.8 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
373 reviews
1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel

Address: Parc y Llyn Retail Park, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $74 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel. We have 36 Luxury Bedrooms, Lounge & Conference Room, fully Licensed Cafe Bar & Restaurant and 100 parking spaces. Whether it's for business or a place to relax and unwind, you'll find our facilities and dedicated staff second to none. Our philosophy is simple: commitment to provide the very best traditional cuisine and facilities where guests enjoy a dedicated professional service for the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberystwyth Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing