We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - a real gem”
Review of Nanteos Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nanteos Mansion
Ranked #7 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel - a real gem”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was my first visit to Nanteos since it opened. Its a great hotel in a beautiful location. The owners have clearly spent heavily on upgrading the mansion house to a very high standard hotel. The rooms are lovely, the staff unfailingly helpful and the surroundings stunning. Well worth a visit. There are relatively few high end hotels in the Aberystwyth area - and this is definitely one of my favourites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penyderyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    49
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
56
192
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent just one night here with my husband to celebrate my birthday - and what a way to celebrate in style! Service here is fantastic, except that the term "service" feels wrong as they somehow manage to make you feel you're part of the family rather than just another customer. A very nice gentleman who was a combination of porter, bellman, greeter and historian met us at the car to help with the bags and later gave a quick tour of some of the old house's quirks and charms, complete with some of the family history and the restoration efforts. He introduced us to the receptionist, who also gave us the official tour of the establishment showing us how to operate the fancy coffee machine in the suite). We stayed in and highly recommend the Japan Suite, which was modern and luxurious with a fabulous tub. The room was also perfectly quiet, enabling one of the best nights of sleep I can remember.

Shortly after our mid-afternoon arrival, we enjoyed a delicious high tea in the downstairs sitting room. After a nap and a swim in the tub, we went back down to the bar for a glass of champagne and then dined in the main dining room. Each room is elegant but also comfortable, a very pleasing combination. Dinner was simply one of the better meals we've enjoyed since we moved to the UK a year ago. The ingredients were all fresh and local; we even saw the local butcher delivering parcels to the kitchen the following day. Unable to make up my mind, the staff was happy to allow me to order several appetisers instead of a main course - I recommend the scallops; they were melt-in-your-mouth-and-make-you-melt-too good. Breakfast the next morning, served in the old kitchen rich in ambience, was equally good. There is a buffet if you like a light continental type meal or you can order several delectable dishes. We walked off the morning repast by following the trail around the back of the property. It is still a work in progress, but quite pleasant, even in the rain as it turns out. It was the perfect distance to leave us feeling refreshed and a bit less full, ready to start our day.

The only draw back we can find to the place is that eventually you have to leave and go back to the 'real world.' This place was so wonderful, it makes even birthdays seem like something to look forward to - and I shall certainly endeavour to make this an annual tradition.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Japan Suite which was modern, quiet, had an amazing bath tub en suite and a back entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GioesAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just spent two nights with my brother,sister and father for a family reunion! This lovely country house has been very sympathetically restored and is extremely comfortable. All four bedrooms were all different and luxurious. We ended up eating there on both nights as the food was excellent and your breakfast is cooked to order as well! The young staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much for them. One of the older male staff- sorry don't know his name was extremely knowledgable about the house and family and very interesting to talk too. The views and park land is lovely beautifully quiet. I can't recommend this hotel enough and hope to return again myself.

Room Tip: Perhaps not a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed just for one night at this fabulous hotel. The old mansion has being transformed into a beautiful hotel. Rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is excellent and the staff very friendly.
I have stayed in other hotels in aber before but none of them offer the quality of this hotel. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivinghoe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

After an exhausting journey in terrible weather we finally arrived at Nanteos,escorted by the local constabulary as we could not find the hotel. On arrival we were amazed at the the Georgian architecture, considering that we were in the 'middle of nowwhere' and not in a city renowned for this architectual style! Our room,Hafod, was very comfortable,of generous size and ideal for partially disabled people. The bathroom was large, well equipped and with a luxurious range of toiletries ,towels,flannels and bathrobes.The ground and first floor of the mansion have been completely restored to their former glory and can only be described as 'stunning'. The stable area and courtyard have been partially restord,housing a most luxurious four bedroomed mews house which can be let on a self catering basis. We booked for four nights but stayed seven, although the weather in the majority was bad. We blame the total luxury, only the very best food, excellent service, glorious surroundings for this! Well,any of these excuses will do!!!!!!! Many thanks to everyone at Nanteos Mansion.

Room Tip: Nightingale Suite an absolute must!!! For the partially disabled, Hafod, is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the first time that I have written a review on TripAdvisor , I felt compelled to say that Nanteos put on a wonderful day with excellent food and service for my daughter’s wedding day.
Mark, the manager, and his staff could not be more helpful, the rooms were very comfortable and spotless . The choice for breakfast the next morning was extensive, tasty and hot.
To sum it up if you wanted a memorable wedding day Nanteos is the venue to choose. this mansion was once derelict and now after the renovations it has been restored back to its glory and it must rate amongst the best.

Room Tip: All rooms were individual and excellent including the Courtyard rooms which was a four bedroom self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mark and his team made our visit extra special. We took our baby son for his first holiday away, and everyone made us feel so welcome. The staff (some experienced, others not) were all polite and very switched on. The food that Nigel serves is top top draw - you would be paying A LOT of money for this standard of food in London. We will definitely return. Thanks again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberystwyth
2.9 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
12.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanteos Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanteos Mansion

Property: Nanteos Mansion
Address: Rhydyfelin | Rhydyfelin, Aberystwyth SY23 4LU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nanteos Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanteos Mansion is a grade 1 listed Georgian Property built in 1739 by the Powell Family, and lived in by the same family until 1951. Now restored to its former glory, offering a range of deluxe bedrooms, combined with sumptuous public spaces and providing fine dining using the finest of local Welsh produce.The ethos of the house is 'A country House that happens to be a hotel rather than a Country House Hotel' professional, yet friendly unobtrusive service, where our guests can feel pampered yet relaxed. Nanteos is proud to reestablish the tradition of welcoming guests to this fine Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Nanteos Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanteos Mansion Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing