We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent overnight stay”
Review of Plas Antaron Hotel

Plas Antaron Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Antaron Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A clean and comfortable room and I got an excellent nights sleep. The room was a good size with en-suite shower room, which was not huge but plenty big enough. I had a veru good full breakfast in thge morning.
Overall a very good experience and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailoruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 122 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel and was most impressed. The hotel was clean and comfortable and my room was a good size. Bathroom with shower only (just what I needed) was small but not at all poky. The breakfast was very good indeed. No evening meal was available but the hotel's owner recommended a number of restaurants in Aberystwyth and the recommendation was spot on. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evie2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night when I visited on business.

Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Owners were very helpful and a small bar will serve limited drinks during the evening but NO evening meal available which was disappointing although I knew when I booked that this was the case.

Plenty of car parking spaces and WiFi is free and very good.

Within easy access of Aberystwyth town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for WiFi code which you need to enable you to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunTan_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The welcome was good and the room was very nice and if you looked carefully because the sun was glinting on it you could see the sea The bathroom was a good size and as has been said before it is all spotless. The breakfast was excellent and served with a cheery smile and efficiency - not the usual I don;t want to be here attitude The parking was perfect and it just can't be faulted.
You do really need to drive in to town as it is a steep hill bit that really was the only downside
Thank you

Room Tip: Room 10 is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshirecat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Looking at some of the more negative reviews we were expecting a pokey little room. In fact the room was large with nice views. The bathroom (with bath) was more than adequate. Extra pillows available in a built in cupboard. TV and internet (free) worked fine. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast. The staff were helpful and efficient. Free parking another plus. In all.... nothing to moan about except perhaps the rather early check out time. (10 am).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_HBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had a one night stay on Saturday 16th February. Hotel foyer is lovely, nice staircase up to the rooms. The room was quite nice, a bit small maybe for a double room, but spotlessly clean. It would have been a bit too small I think if we had been staying longer. The en suite was spotless, although there was a hole in the ceiling that was covered up with tissue paper!
Breakfast, was between 8 and 9am, and as someone else said, you have to sit at the table which matches your room number. When we were shown to the table, I hesitated before sitting down, as I thought the place mats were covered in crumbs, however it was just scratches on them!. Waitress then said, "Full English, yea?", didn't tell us we could chop and change or we could have an alternative if we had wanted.
All in all, not too bad, but personally think that £70 is very expensive for what we got. And the fact that it's 5 minutes outside of Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine209tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed for one night. initially the room was a little cold but once i mentioned it to the manager it was quickly arranged for the heating to be put on and even offered another room. the staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. full cooked breakfast was very tasty. the was nothing too much trouble for anyone at this hotel. room was very clean and cosy. all in all 10/10

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkEllend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
526 reviews
9.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Antaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Antaron Hotel

Address: Antaron Avenue, Aberystwyth SY23 1SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $89 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Antaron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in mid Wales the Plas Antaron Hotel is an ideal base for exploring North, South, East and West Wales. Take full advantage of what the immediate area has to offer, whether its the delights of a Victorian holiday resort, sailing, wind-surfing, pony-trekking, coarse and sea fishing, golf, bird watching, walking or general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plas Antaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Antaron Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing