We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent stay”
Review of The Starling Cloud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Starling Cloud
Ranked #18 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel provided what I expected in the form of a clean, comfortable and modern hotel room. This is something that seems to be lacking in Aberystwyth. The hotel is only a short walk from the town and railway station and another reasonable walk from a Mcdonalds and Morrisions supermarket. The morning breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjl599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for The Starling Cloud
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 304 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stay in Aberystwyth quite often as we have family there. On the whole we find the local hotels basic as they have no real competition, so it was good to find Marstons were going to test this! We also use premier Inns on a regular basis and on comparison The Starling Cloud is a similar type of hotel. BUT they may have just cut a few too many corners, the bedlinen is already showing wear and tear so not to the quality of Premier. It is all very clean and functional, you go across car park for the restaurant for breakfast, food quality is acceptable (except not much choice on the cereals,yogurts and fruit) but as it's served to order THE WAIT both days was 40 minutesfor the hot course. We don't find this acceptable especially if you had a schedule to adhere to. We did complain and were told there was only 1 chef! Come on Marstons improve on this and you will be where we will return to when we visit Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccarrono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

First time at this hotel, and we were pleasantly surprised. Comfortable and well equipped rooms with a superb breakfast. Staff were very helpful and the service was good. The hotel is approx 0.5 miles from town centre, close to Morrison supermarket and shopping park.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

basic, very ! only stay here if the only other option is a tent.
Busy road, noisy bar too many drunks and broken glass, even the staff are noisy. Next time I will stay just outside town as I did once before, perhaps Nanteos .. or the Conrah they will cost more but what's the point of paying less if you can't sleep and thus you are not fit for anything the next day..

Room Tip: don;t bother
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

First overnight stay in Aberystwyth and was looking out for a good hotel with good reviews , looking through many reviews of Hotels the Starling Cloud stood out straight away so I booked a night in there. Good welcome by the reception which is based within the pub next door. i was based in room 6 which was on the back of the building , nice clean room , comfortable bed , nice bathroom with shower and bath, black out curtains. Have stopped in a few hotels where the Wifi has been poor but not at the Starling Cloud good fast signal strength in room and pub next door. If you book in the hotel you qualify for 20% discount on any meal in the pub. I had 20 oz mixed grill and a pint of beer all for £13.00. The meal was top standard. Breakfast was nice choice of cereals and a choice of selected English Breakfast foods cooked to whatever you want on your plate. Though the girl serving breakfast seemed to be in a bit of a early morning mood. Other than that I will be making the Starling Cloud a regular overnight stop off point when i am next in Aberystwyth.

Room Tip: There seemed to be a generator humming most of the night outside my room 6
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLDBURYRICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Starling Cloud several times through the year. The rooms have always been very clean and with all the needed facilities. However, the last time we stayed, on the 28th of Dec `13 we noticed that the service in the restaurant has changed. Nobody was smiling anymore, not even the staff that we have previously seen there. Nobody asked us how was our meal, nobody said thank you on our way out. Breakfast however was a bit more pleasant. The value its very good and we will stay again but I hope that the service will come back to how it was when it first opened.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzy7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night just to get away from it all between Christmas and New Year, excellent choice, the rooms were clean and spacious, with a bath and shower, also tea, coffee and water were provided in the room.
We ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the meal, which was served by pleasant staff.
The breakfast was good although the cooked breakfast was not that hot and the bacon was under cooked, but that could just be my preferance.
All in all a very pleasant short break and will be returning

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roomeycannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
2.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
510 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#8 of 36 in Aberystwyth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Starling Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starling Cloud

Address: Parc y Llyn Retail Park | Boulevard St Brieuc, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $76 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of marston's newly built pubs. The Starling Cloud in Aberystwyth is on the main road into the historic town. It's close to the train station which is only a ten minute walk away, and a short stroll from the main promenade and land mark pier. Enjoy our fantastic rotisserie cooked chicken and our other tasty options - children can also enjoy our great kids menu. We offer our famous hand pull bitters alongside a wide range of draught ales and drinks. We have an indoor children's play area so parents can dine and watch their children having fun.With a secure outside child's play area, ample outdoor seating and Large car park we welcome customers to enjoy what we have to offer. Alongside of this, we have a 27 room lodge, from family rooms, doubles and ground floor accessible rooms. Whether you are on your holidays, visiting family, at the university or on business, the Starling Cloud is for you! Free wifi is always available so why not come along and visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Starling Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starling Cloud Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing