We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Aber (+ breakfast!)”
Review of The Starling Cloud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Starling Cloud
Ranked #17 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One night in Aber (+ breakfast!)”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose The starling Cloud because it looked like one of the only decent hotels in the area that weren't fully booked at short notice.
It's a lot like your standard budget chain (but a bit nicer). We went for a family room as there were two of us, mother & daughter visiting for a university open day.
When we were booking we explained we needed a room with two beds and the family room was organised. It consists of a double sofa bed type thing and a standard double. We were disappointed when we arrived to find that the sofa bed had not been 'made up' and we had to ring reception to get them to sort it. Didn't mind too much, not a big problem, but worth a mention.

It's a great base for Aberystwyth but we found that we didn't walk into town much, we used the car! This is because it was raining very heavily both days and we did not fancy a walk in the rain. To explain the walk to anyone that hasn't been, I'd say it was 10/15 minutes and quite pleasant. However, I'd prefer to use the car as we are lazy and there's some great free parking in town.

The room was clean and modern with basic amenities like a kettle. Don't expect sea views but the hotel doesn't claim to have them so no problems there. Nice deep bath got the thumbs up from us.
I found my sofa bed very comfortable indeed with nice clean bedding. My mum, on the other hand, said her double bed (although very clean) was very firm and hard! She slept though, so can't have been that bad.

The hotel is a 30 second walk from the restaurant/pub so if you're stuck for somewhere to eat on a night like we were, it's worth a shot.

Breakfast was lovely - there's a table with things like milk, juice, cereal. Then you get your hot breakfast menu. There's the usual cooked breakfast items & you pick and choose to create your own. You can also request fresh croissants and porridge. A nice touch is you can choose how you'd like your eggs. I really enjoyed the breakfast but it took a bit too long to come. It was lovely though.

We'd stay here again, it's a great base for aber and the breakfast was top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    89
    50
    25
    23
See reviews for
65
103
3
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a Marstons Chain Hotel attached to the Starling Cloud Public House in Aberystwyth. If you just drive by the accommodation building you will see a non descript building that won't catch your eye at all but it is well worth a second glance.

This is a new build that has only been open for six months or so. The accommodation is much on a par with a Premier Inn.....with a few added touches that takes it over and above. It is a small hotel. You check in via the adjoining Starling Cloud. Check in was prompt, we paid on arrival and we were given our card that gained us access to the adjoining accommodation.

First Impressions were very good. The room was pretty much laid out as you would expect a Premier Inn to be ( most of us have stayed at a PI on our travels). The décor was better though, there were complimentary biscuits and complimentary water.......and hot chocolate and Ovaltine as well. The pillows were really comfortable (and there were two spare with clean pillow cases on as well). Plenty of towels, hairdryer etc. As you would expect of a new build it was also spotlessly clean. It had heating for the winter and air con for hotter weather. We had a very comfortable nights stay. No noise at all as the accommodation is set back from the pub.

The menu in the Starling Cloud (Marstons Pub) is very good.....and make sure you check out the specials as well. They had a lovely log fire there this weekend and the evening meal we had was faultless. Breakfast was really good as well. Help yourself to fruit juice/cereals/yogurt/fruit....but I like the fact you didn't need to worry about coffee machines/toasters.......Tea/Coffee is served to you at your table (lovely fresh coffee) as is your breakfast........and I loved the toast. Not a bog standard slice of bread at all but a lovely chunk of toasted batch bread that the butter just melted on.......wonderful!

It is about a 20 minute walk from the shops and a 30 minute walk to the sea front. The pub/hotel is on a retail park just outside of the town. Highly recommended and we will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: I would say all rooms are exactly the same.......you can't go wrong really
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I like a firm bed, but the bed in room 22 is more like a mortician slab. The room and facilities were fine, the breakfast next morning was excellent as were the staff. Would stay again, maybe try another bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have eaten several times here since it opened & have been more than pleased with everything. Splendid, varied menu, cleanliness, staff & services. Cannot honestly be negative about anything. Always felt welcome, & staff are efficient without being intrusive. Food excellent & beautifully cooked. Can highly recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked direct on the the hotel website for one night.Had a family room which included breakfast for £79.95.You check in at the restaurant and get a keycard for your room which is in a separate building.Our room was basic with a double bed and a sofa bed.There were tea/coffee facilities with biscuits and 3 bottles of water which I thought was an added bonus.The room was clean enough, but the bathroom not to such a good standard.The bathroom has liquid soap/shower dispenser and an over head fixed shower which was good but not a favourite of mine.
As it was raining on the day we arrived, we decided just to have an evening meal in the restaurant. Service was quick, but the food was mediocre.I had pate to start which was very runny.We did have a 20% reduction in our food bill as I had my email confirmation with me, but wouldn't choose to eat here again.
We had breakfast included in the price which was ok.You could help yourself to cereals/fruit juice etc.If you want a croissant or porridge you need to request these.Good job I ordered our croissants straight away as they take a lot of time to arrive.The same applies to cooked breakfast, so as we were a bit pushed for time, it was a bit dissapointing to have to wait a long time.I'd ordered scrambled egg with my breakfast which was inedible, very rubbery and unappetising.I 'd also asked for toast which I didn't get, but as we were in a rush, didn't bother asking for it again.The staff however were very pleasant and polite.
If I were to stay in this area again, I would probably look elsewhere first because of the points that I've mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angleseymember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked 3 doubles for my family attending a wedding in aberystwith, they aloud us to have our rooms 3 hours early to freshen up and change, rooms were lovely n modern with tv, tea & coffee facilities.the full breakfast was lush the following day,with cereals fresh juices & fruit, a really nice stay good value for money, thanks to all the staff, very helpful & polite,

Room Tip: Good value for money, enjoyed my one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywooded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, room was good, clean, quiet, slept very well in comfy bed, good location to the town, would have liked a wardrobe though, we did eat in the pub and the food was very good though my partner ordered carrot and basil soup it came out as vegetable. Breakfast sausages were not very nice, would have liked a bit more of a choice, some fresh fruit rather than a fruit bowl, but overall was very pleased and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz7203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glengower
The Glengower
#4 of 36 in Aberystwyth
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Starling Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starling Cloud

Property: The Starling Cloud
Address: Parc y Llyn Retail Park | Boulevard St Brieuc, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of marston's newly built pubs. The Starling Cloud in Aberystwyth is on the main road into the historic town. It's close to the train station which is only a ten minute walk away, and a short stroll from the main promenade and land mark pier. Enjoy our fantastic rotisserie cooked chicken and our other tasty options - children can also enjoy our great kids menu. We offer our famous hand pull bitters alongside a wide range of draught ales and drinks. We have an indoor children's play area so parents can dine and watch their children having fun.With a secure outside child's play area, ample outdoor seating and Large car park we welcome customers to enjoy what we have to offer. Alongside of this, we have a 27 room lodge, from family rooms, doubles and ground floor accessible rooms. Whether you are on your holidays, visiting family, at the university or on business, the Starling Cloud is for you! Free wifi is always available so why not come along and visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Starling Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starling Cloud Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing