We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant decor but poor menu.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of MG's - CLOSED

MG's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our 5 star food hygiene rated Cafe has been a part of the Aberystwyth cafe scene since 2004 when we operated from premises in Cambrian Place before moving to 26 Chalybeate St where we established a reputation for great coffee and excellent service. Expansion took us to our current location at 6 Chalybeate St in Dec 2012. The new premises has 60 covers and enables MG's to bring our excellent service, coffee and food to a wider customer base. MG's is a truly independent and local business with an ethos of buying fresh produce locally and providing a Welsh biased menu with delights such as Welsh Rarebit, Cawl and Glamorgan Sausages. We use meat from the famous and award winning Rob Rattray's butcher (next door) and are developing a reputation for our MG's Burger as well as Gails cheese and potato pie.. All our coffee is ethically sourced and we only use the very best Arabcia beans from Colombia.At the heart of MG's is a customer service ethos that always puts the customer at the heart of everything we do. Customer comments, good and bad are positively encouraged to ensure MG's is always at the leading edge of delivering great customer service.MG's has disabled toilet facilities as well as baby changing and high chairs available. DOG FRIENDLY
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant decor but poor menu.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Been there once, not particularly keen on going back. The prices are decidedly higher than in other Aberystwyth cafes but the food quality not as good. Also, the menu lacks variety. It looks posh inside the cafe, but can get uncomfortable and loud when more people are in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samanchris, Owner at MG's, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Alex. Sorry to hear you we're disappointed and thought our menu was limited. Our menu occupies 3 A4' s including drinks with a Welsh feel throughout. We do have a daily specials board that supplements our core menu ( it is on our website as well). Our current board has 12 items on and changes daily. Whilst we are not the cheapest in Aber we are competitive against our peers. It can get a bit noisy, but that is a consequence of being busy. Glad you liked the decor though. If you have any suggestions for menu items we have introduced a "suggest a special" box for customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Now I've tried the best, I won't bother with the rest!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

MG's is without doubt the best cafe in Aberystwyth! They have the best hot chocolate I have ever tasted, it is delicious and is made to perfection each and every time! The food is absolutely gorgeous, staff are always friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The atmosphere in MG's is lovely and cosy. The menu has a wide range of foods to choose from, which are all delicious! What makes it even better is that they get their meat from the local butcher, Rob Rattray. They also have the most beautiful selection of cakes available! There is something for everyone at MGs and it is all also at a very reasonable price. You will not be disappointed! Thank you MG's! I will without a doubt be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeBarron_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bendigedig/ Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Originally went in out of desperation after attempting to get served in Ceasars (full), Brasserie (1 hour wait on food) and The Other Place (staff too busy chatting and sooo dirty we didn't want to risk it).
Been several times since for coffee with friends and lunch with Mam (who is extremely fussy)- and would not consider anywhere else in Aberystwyth now. Very nice atmosphere, friendly, efficient staff and fantastic food.
So nice to see a true local eaterie in town- from the Welsh speaking staff (and those who don't speak it fluently seem to be learning) and proper printed in Welsh menus (clearly not an after thought, well done!) to great quality food from local farmers and bakers- Rob Rattray seems to be glued to his chair there! Am about half way through the menu so far and have really enjoyed everything- especially the homemade chips! Specials are always a good option but then again, all the portions seem to be a good size and very tasty. Took a Tiffin home for dad on my last visit and it was 'almost as good as my Mam used to make!'.
Worth noting that it's way cheaper than Costa too!
Not a word of complaint about the place- keep up the good work. DIolch o galon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service and excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

MGs offers consistently good food and coffee that is only topped by the wonderful service and atmosphere.
The majority of staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, often going the extra mile to improve my experience.
Thanks MGs!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbrooks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home my 2nd home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Always in mg's sometimes twice in one day coffee latte always great along with the sandwiches burgers and cakes staff always friendly helpful and really cheer you up when having bad day :) prices are reasonable I feel for quality and sevice only downside I find since I'm a regular customer is weekend younger staff don't seems as approuchable engaging as others but mainly get my takeaways then :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melslayer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samanchris, Owner at MG's, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review and for being a regular customer. Comments noted on the "different feel" on some weekends when we have different staff in. We are going to make every effort to ensure that one of the senior team are in over weekend periods and to further train our staff on how important it is to provide a welcoming and homely atmosphere as we do most of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MG's also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing