We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great holiday home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maesygelli

Spacious front parking and stunning countryside views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious front parking and stunning countryside views
Bedroom 1 - Front Master bedroom with en-suite and stunning views of open countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Spacious front parking and stunning countryside views
Bedroom 1 - Front Master bedroom with en-suite and stunning views of open countryside
Spacious lounge with open countryside view and French doors to patio and rear garden
Bedroom 3 - Front right bedroom with glorious views of open countryside opposite bathroom
Bedroom 2 - Rear right bedroom with en-suite overlooking rear patio and terraced garden
Bedroom 4 - Rear centre bedroom adjacent to bathroom overlooking patio and terraced garden
Glorious open countryside views from Maesygelli
Floor plans
Glorious Rheidol valley which is just a 5 minute drive away
Ynyslas beach beyond Borth which is just a 15 minute drive away
Aberystwyth beach and promenade walk which is just a 10 minute drive away.  Look out for Dolphins
View from Maesygelli
Maesygelli house overlooks the glorious Rheidol Valley
Spacious surroundings at Maesygelli
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy W
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great holiday home!”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at Maesygelli at New Year with 2 other families and had a fabulous time. Marilyn (the owner) made us feel really welcome on arrival and the Christmas decorations were a lovely touch. Not to mention the fresh bread, milk, jams and mince pies that Marilyn left for us. The house was immaculately clean and the clean white linen gave it a nice high quality hotel feel. It was really well equipped with flat screen tv and lots of seating in the living room and a great dining room to comfortably seat 10+. The kitchen was also well equipped for catering for large groups. The local pub “The Druids Inn” is definitely worth a visit and not even a 10 minute walk away. The food there was exceptional, without doubt the best steak and ale pie I’ve ever eaten. Would highly recommend Maesygelli to anyone thinking of going – we certainly wouldn’t hesitate to book again.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property and value for money
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2016
Thank you so, so much for such a generous review, absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will continue to improve wherever I can as I love having visitors staying at Maesygelli and experiencing the glorious location and all the local amenities. Thank you too for taking such good care of the property and leaving it clean and tidy for me - immensely appreciated! I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
605claire...
Buckley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs ”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Absolutely fantastic cottage, we were a family group of 3 generations and we all loved it. What made it even better was an unexpected welcome basket of fresh bread, Welsh cakes, milk, butter & jams (tea, sugar & condiments in the cupboards also) Great for just a chill out and a great base for walking and spotting Red Kites. Everything you need is here, thank you Marylin I'm sure we'll be back again xx

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
THANK YOU so, so much for your very kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you all - especially mum and grandmum who were obviously very excited about the graduation! It's always nice to have lovely families staying at the house as it reminds me of my grandchildren staying there with me and my husband. Taking them out on their scooters around the very safe county lanes was such a pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
1 review
“A lovely holiday home”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Maesygelli is a lovely, clean and spacious holiday home. It is very comfortable and homely, and it came equipped with everything that we needed. We stayed at the house as a family of 6 and would love to visit again with a bigger group of family and friends. We found this home very accommodating and we highly recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind words, it is greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and I would be delighted to see you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weary_Tra...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely stay in this well equipped house with family ranging from adults in their 80s to a 1 year old. The house had everything we needed and Marilyn was so helpful in getting us settled, making sure we had information about the area and keeping us informed about when the house would be ready.
We would definitely stay at Maesygelli and recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review my house. It delights me to know that visitors enjoy staying there and have had a good time. I know how amazing the location is having lived there myself and I do miss the walk around the lower part, over the 2 little bridges! It's a very calming place with lovely peace and quiet and glorious countryside views. I hope to see you and your family return for another visit sometime and thank you to all of them for taking such good care of the house, leaving it clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
2 reviews
“Lovely week in a beautiful house and setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for the week with extended family for my daughter's graduation. We have now stayed in all the properties and every one contains every thing you need for a very comfortable holiday. Everything has been carefully thought out and the standard of accommodation is excellent. The owners are the most accommodating people we have ever encountered on our many trips all over the UK and they have made each of our stays like being at home with our own family - indeed they have really gone the extra mile to help out with things! The views from the house are second to none and if you are keen walkers and cyclists there are many routes to do straight from the front door. (There are plenty of walks for those who just like to amble too). I would thoroughly recommend this property and Derwen (their other cottage) to anyone who likes a very well equipped, quiet and extremely comfortable place to stay and at a very reasonable cost too. Many thanks Marilyn and Ivor for making out stays so good - we'll be back very soon.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and facilities
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2014
Sometimes in life you meet people that impact on you and, while I have met many lovely people who have stayed here at our cottage, this family became friends. I really missed having them around after they had gone home! I am delighted that their lovely daughter who achieved excellent degree results is to return to Aberystwyth University. Hopefully it might mean more chats over a cup of tea.
Thank you so much Caroline for your complimentary review which means a great deal to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauB6
Ontario's Near North, Canada
2 reviews
“Great stay in Goginan - Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed with an extended family group for week. The house was exactly as advertised, clean, spacious and well-equipped. The owner, Marilyn, was very helpful and made sure we were well set up. There was lots of parking. The view out over the valley was classically serene and pastoral. Our youngest daughter took every opportunity to look for the three horses that grazed each day in the field in front of the house. The loop around the valley floor made for the perfect evening walk. The only sounds we heard during the day were the distant bleating of sheep and we heard none at all at night.

We ate twice at Goginan's pub, the Druid Inn, which is just up the hill. They effortlessly accommodated our large group and the food and ale were fabulous.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Steep staircase for very small children - we had no problems though
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2014
THANK YOU so very much for taking the time to review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, especially as some of your family had traveled from Canada. The walks around the area are indeed lovely and we are very lucky indeed to live in this part of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consulty
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large group”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Well equipped, ideal for a large group. Nice location. Recommend Sunday Lunch at The Druid. Rural and great views, ideal for getting into Aberystwyth - 15 mins drive and Devils Point

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
THANK YOU so much for your kind review. We are indeed very lucky to have a house in such a stunning and tranquil location and to have Sunday roast at the Druid Inn! You can head in any direction and find plenty of fantastic amenities. Aberystwyth area has plenty to offer all interests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing