We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely week in a beautiful house and setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maesygelli

Spacious surroundings at Maesygelli
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious surroundings at Maesygelli
Bedroom 1 - Front Master bedroom with en-suite and stunning views of open countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Spacious surroundings at Maesygelli
Bedroom 1 - Front Master bedroom with en-suite and stunning views of open countryside
Spacious lounge with open countryside view and French doors to patio and rear garden
Bedroom 3 - Front right bedroom with glorious views of open countryside opposite bathroom
Bedroom 2 - Rear right bedroom with en-suite overlooking rear patio and terraced garden
Bedroom 4 - Rear centre bedroom adjacent to bathroom overlooking patio and terraced garden
Glorious open countryside views from Maesygelli
Floor plans
Glorious Rheidol valley which is just a 5 minute drive away
Ynyslas beach beyond Borth which is just a 15 minute drive away
Aberystwyth beach and promenade walk which is just a 10 minute drive away.  Look out for Dolphins
View from Maesygelli
Maesygelli house overlooks the glorious Rheidol Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
2 reviews
“Lovely week in a beautiful house and setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for the week with extended family for my daughter's graduation. We have now stayed in all the properties and every one contains every thing you need for a very comfortable holiday. Everything has been carefully thought out and the standard of accommodation is excellent. The owners are the most accommodating people we have ever encountered on our many trips all over the UK and they have made each of our stays like being at home with our own family - indeed they have really gone the extra mile to help out with things! The views from the house are second to none and if you are keen walkers and cyclists there are many routes to do straight from the front door. (There are plenty of walks for those who just like to amble too). I would thoroughly recommend this property and Derwen (their other cottage) to anyone who likes a very well equipped, quiet and extremely comfortable place to stay and at a very reasonable cost too. Many thanks Marilyn and Ivor for making out stays so good - we'll be back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and facilities
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2014
Sometimes in life you meet people that impact on you and, while I have met many lovely people who have stayed here at our cottage, this family became friends. I really missed having them around after they had gone home! I am delighted that their lovely daughter who achieved excellent degree results is to return to Aberystwyth University. Hopefully it might mean more chats over a cup of tea.
Thank you so much Caroline for your complimentary review which means a great deal to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauB6
Ontario's Near North, Canada
2 reviews
“Great stay in Goginan - Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed with an extended family group for week. The house was exactly as advertised, clean, spacious and well-equipped. The owner, Marilyn, was very helpful and made sure we were well set up. There was lots of parking. The view out over the valley was classically serene and pastoral. Our youngest daughter took every opportunity to look for the three horses that grazed each day in the field in front of the house. The loop around the valley floor made for the perfect evening walk. The only sounds we heard during the day were the distant bleating of sheep and we heard none at all at night.

We ate twice at Goginan's pub, the Druid Inn, which is just up the hill. They effortlessly accommodated our large group and the food and ale were fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Steep staircase for very small children - we had no problems though
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2014
THANK YOU so very much for taking the time to review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, especially as some of your family had traveled from Canada. The walks around the area are indeed lovely and we are very lucky indeed to live in this part of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consulty
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large group”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Well equipped, ideal for a large group. Nice location. Recommend Sunday Lunch at The Druid. Rural and great views, ideal for getting into Aberystwyth - 15 mins drive and Devils Point

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
THANK YOU so much for your kind review. We are indeed very lucky to have a house in such a stunning and tranquil location and to have Sunday roast at the Druid Inn! You can head in any direction and find plenty of fantastic amenities. Aberystwyth area has plenty to offer all interests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
over4ty
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation very comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed at Maesygelli for a few days with family for our son's wedding.
Very pleased with accommodation, very well equipped, and bedrooms were lovely.
Kitchen was very modern and had everything you need.
Lovely big dining room and lounge. Have to say the owners were very pleasant and helpful
The views are fantastic, worth booking just for the view !!!
Very beautiful part of Wales.
Would have no hesitation booking Maesygelli in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely property, like being home from home !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2013
THANK YOU so much for your review. I had reports that the wedding was beautiful and I am delighted my house was convenient for your preparations. We are indeed very lucky to live in such a glorious part of Wales and I would be delighted to see your party return for future stays as such good care was taken of my property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B
2 reviews
“Good size, great views, lovely property.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I recently stayed at Maesygelli with friends to celebratebrate my 30th birthday.
The house was well stocked with everything we needed, from cooking utensils to cleaning products and a washing machine. The living/dining areas were of a generous size and there was enough bathrooms to ensure there wasn't any contention. The view from the the front of the house and the well sized bbq/patio area were second to none and a couple of excellent walks start right a the door step. Whilst a little off the beaten track, it's situated in a great location and was a breeze to find with the map that Marilyn supplied us with. A taxi we ordered did struggle to find us and we ended up walking up the hill to the main road to meet it. This was fine for us, but not ideal for anyone a little unsteady on there feet. This issue arose due to the poor directions we gave the taxi firm more than anything else, but worth bearing in mind if ordering one.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return in a flash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large, well stocked kithchen
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2013
THANK YOU. At first I had reservations about letting to a group of young men celebrating a special birthday, but I couldn't have asked for better. They left my house in an immaculate state and I would be delighted if they wished to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopPicker...
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect for our family group, generous sized bedrooms and 3 bathrooms”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed during October Half Term to visit our daughter at Aber Uni. The house was perfect for our family group with teenage daughters and parents. The kitchen was very well equipped, beds comfortable made up with quality linen and 3 bathrooms were a bonus. A fireplace or electric fire would benefit the spacious lounge in the winter months. The location was quiet and picturesque, Marilyn was very generous with all her goodies, Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation with 3 bathrooms
Liked least: Needs some extra heating in the lounge
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2013
Thank you for your constructive criticism on the need for a fireplace in the lounge. I will certainly endeavor to install one by next winter as the lounge is very large and needs something to make it a bit more snug.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot01
Greater London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable, clean, quiet and great view”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We only stayed a few days off season but it was such a pleasant place to stay we wished we could have stayed longer. The house is large and comfortable and well appointed. We have previously stayed at Derwen cottage which is owned by the same people so we knew it would be spotless and comfortable.

It's a bit tricky to find the first time; I recommend arriving in daylight if you are not familiar with the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view! and the warm welcome.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was absolutely delighted that you chose to return for a second visit to another of my cottages and so pleased to welcome you and your family who are such considerate and lovely people. I try and give the best directions possible but the rural locations can indeed be difficult to find the first time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing