We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay.”
other travelers have booked this property
Doleos in May evening sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door
Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Have the beds linked for Super-king
OR twin bedded bedroom overlooking garden and meadow
Very well equipped kitchen including fridge, dish-washer, microwave and clothes wash/dry machine
Dine out on Doleos patio and admire the views
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and you can also see the distant Cambrian Mountains
Really comfy sofa-bed in the lounge if needed and pre-booked
Plenty of books and brochures
Private parking directly by Derwen Cottage
View the glorious surrounding countryside from the meadow
distant views of open countryside from the meadow
garden path feature at Derwen Cottage
Patio and garden feature at Derwen cottage in 2012
Ynyslas beach and estuary near Borth, North of Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth beach and prom - lovely long walk to 'kick the bar' - a local tradition
Glorious Cwm Rheidol where the Butterfly house is located
Summer visitors
Spring flowers in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Global446...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed 2nights - plenty of space for 4 of us. Everything immaculate, clean, bright and a fabulous warm welcome from the lovely host Marilyn. Everything from lovely biscuits to hand wash and more thoughtfully provided. A hidden gem of a place - immacute and very comfortable. Thankyou so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
THANK YOU. The pleasure of having you and your lovely family, including Coco, to stay at my cottage was all mine. Delighted you enjoyed being here and thank you so much for your generous review. I do hope to see you back some day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“superb as always ”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

returned for fourth time and as always excellent. lovely and warm with as always so nice and quiet. this lovely cottage is some where we go to get away from it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
THANK YOU once more Paul for your kind consideration in writing your review. It's always a huge pleasure to have you and Susan to stay at my cottage and I'm so delighted you wish to share the delights of the place time and time again. Hopefully next time you stay we will have improved even more of the landscape and the natural beauty of the immediate surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G
Cannock
1 review
“Doleos Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent our best ever christmas holiday away in this lovely persons cottage. Price for the cottage was acceptable , which upon arrival became our most favoured holiday in a long time and excellent value for money. Marilyn is a superb host ,arrived at agreed time and she was there waiting to give us a full description of the house and then left us to enjoy our holiday. Welcome pack was fantastic, the house and its facilities were very pleasing. Bedding was fresh and superb quality, nice soft but heavy quilt .actually took note of brand for purchasing one for our house . There isnt many places that we can honestly say we have stayed in and feel at home so quickly but this was just that. Could quite happily sell up and live there .
Really cannot fault and will be returning when we want to stay in the area again,. Thank you marilyn .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Happy, happy New Year - you've certainly made mine! Thank you Julie so very much for your lovely review, it really lifts the spirit, makes all the hard work worthwhile and has me looking forward to another hectic year of lovely visitors coming to my cottages. It was a real pleasure having you to stay and thank you so much for the considerate way you left the cottage - perfectly clean and tidy. THANK YOU.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
THANK YOU very much for your generous review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your sister and having you to stay over Christmas. I'm delighted you were pleased with the cottage and its location though this isn't the best time of year for the outlook from the cottage. Springtime, when everything is green, is glorious and the sunshine makes a big difference. I do hope you will visit again and hopefully you will have an even more enjoyable time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely hosts!”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed with Marilyn & Ifor for 6 weeks in total whilst we were working in the area & to be honest we didnt want to go home! They made us feel very welcome & were very helpful! The accommodation is pristine & we would definitely recommend it! Thanks for having us! :D

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Thank you Dan and Mel. It was a real pleasure having you to stay at Doleos and we missed having you around after you left. You were perfect guests and excellent company. Ifor and I enjoyed the time you joined us at our table, the conversations and merryment. It was nice to get to know you both while you worked in the area. THANK YOU
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma H
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome to a comfortable cottage in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The kettle was boiling on arrival & we were warmly welcomed to a well-equipped & well-maintained cottage. We enjoyed a peaceful, relaxing few days at Doleos Cottages & really felt that we had "got away from it all". Beautiful location, just a stone's throw from Aberystwyth.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
THANK YOU very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review, especially as you only left yesterday! I wouldn't have thought you had recovered from your journey home yet! It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely family and I hope the children got to see the rabbits, especially the baby ones. I do hope you'll visit again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol c
1 review
“Doleos”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Excellent accommodation, friendly hosts, everything provided no need to worry about linen towels etc., would recommend to anyone looking to visit Wales. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
THANK YOU very much Carol for taking the time and trouble to write your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and I do hope you will return for another visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing