We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picturesque, pretty and peaceful”
other travelers have booked this property
Doleos in May evening sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door
Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Have the beds linked for Super-king
OR twin bedded bedroom overlooking garden and meadow
Very well equipped kitchen including fridge, dish-washer, microwave and clothes wash/dry machine
Dine out on Doleos patio and admire the views
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and you can also see the distant Cambrian Mountains
Really comfy sofa-bed in the lounge if needed and pre-booked
Plenty of books and brochures
Private parking directly by Derwen Cottage
View the glorious surrounding countryside from the meadow
distant views of open countryside from the meadow
garden path feature at Derwen Cottage
Patio and garden feature at Derwen cottage in 2012
Ynyslas beach and estuary near Borth, North of Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth beach and prom - lovely long walk to 'kick the bar' - a local tradition
Glorious Cwm Rheidol where the Butterfly house is located
Summer visitors
Spring flowers in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Viki000
St Helier Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Picturesque, pretty and peaceful”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with children and a dog. All were very comfortable. The cottage is modern an beautiful inside with a lovely outlook into fields where the children and dog played in the evening. 5 minute drive to main town and seaside. Comfortable beds and very good cooking facilities. Definitely worth a stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review. I am delighted that you liked the cottage and it's outlook and that you enjoyed your visit having traveled such a long way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno R
2 reviews
“An ideal place for both active and peaceful holidays”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We can only thank Marylin for her warm welcome and their perfect cottage! So comfortable, so clear and clean, so peaceful and with all the details which shows how attentionate Marylin is! I can only recommend her place. No doubt we'll come back! I already miss its serenity!
Don't hesitate, it's a must ! Plus the area is just beautiful. And if you like jogging or having a nice walk in the evening, you can climb up the hill and enjoy a beautiful sunset . all the ingredients for the best holidays!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house on the whole and its place
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your generous review and for visiting from France. It is impossible to quantify the immense pleasure I gain from seeing visitors from abroad enjoying the glorious Welsh countryside and this location in particular. I was delighted to hear that you found the tranquility and peaceful surroundings to your liking and that my cottage exceeded your expectations. While valued visitors continue to enjoy staying here I will strive to ensure total satisfaction with the facilities I provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally A
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Countryside Idyll”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a find - so close to Aberystwyth but in the heart of the countryside, perfect!
The cottage had everything you might need for a comfortable stay inc. washer/dryer and dishwasher - really helpful. Marilyn and her husband Ifor were so friendly and keen to help us make the most of our time there and gave us information about hiring bikes locally. Although we like to eat out it was great having the facilities to cook evening meals when wanted. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very spacious, great shower too. I would recommend this accommodation for both couples and families alike. Thanks Marilyn and Ifor, your hospitality
was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good range of facilities in the cottage
Liked least: having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a total delight meeting you both and sharing our location with you especially as you were so enthusiastic about the natural environment here and how we are developing the landscape. I so hope to see you on a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NerysL8
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our few days wished we could have stayed longer. So relaxing and peaceful at the cottage and all home comforts for us and our baby. Definitely visit again. Convenient location for Aberystwyth and stunning views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2014
THANK YOU - DIOLCH O GALON - Delighted to have such a lovely little family staying at the cottage and taking such interest in our plans and ideas for finishing another little cottage. The little baby boy was adorable and contented and I hope one day to see him running in our meadow or paddling in the stream!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnie207
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect! Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Thank you for making our short stay so lovely. Doleos Cottage is perfect in every way - beautifully furnished throughout to a high spec in a beautiful setting. My son (aged 7) was in his element running up to the top of the meadow every morning (with our little dog) where you have a lovely view of the sea at the top.

Marilyn was more than helpful and even had a lovely welcome pack for us when we arrived, of tea, coffee break, milk, jam and more!!

I can not recommend this accommodation enough and we will definitely be coming back to stay - I didn't want to come home!!

Lovely lovely lovely!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2014
Massive THANK YOU - I'm absolutely chuffed to bits that my lovely, charming visitors enjoyed staying at my cottage. It's what spurs me on and knowing they didn't want to leave - well fantastic! I did enjoy my little run up to the top of the meadow with the youngster and his extremely energetic pup! Not bad for an out of condition biddy! I look forward in particular to their return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyGrey1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights at this lovely cottage. It felt very secluded but was only 5 minutes drive from Aberystwyth. It was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable and there was a good shower. The meadow at the back was perfect for our dog to run around freely. The location was stunning and looking out on the fields from the sitting room we really felt we were getting away from it all. The owners gave us a very warm welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2014
THANK YOU. It was lovely to see my charming young visitors, with their very excited dog, stroll through the meadow. The view of the sea from the top gate is a magnet for me and I escape up there for my time out. It's a lovely spot for a picnic too so I hope when my visitors 'return soon' the weather will be sunny and hot so they may enjoy a picnic by the meadow gate. So very satisfying to have visitors that share our vision for our amazing little place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn C
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“just .......lovely”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, a lovely very clean beautiful place. A home from home - a lovely couple who are passionate about making a holiday experience the best.Thank-you xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly, very clean comfortable experience
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2014
THANK YOU. We have a vision and we can only hope we'll achieve it. We want to make this beautiful place absolutely glorious for every visitor to enjoy. Meeting lovely, lovely guests along the way gives us immense pleasure and we are motivated and inspired by their lovely reviews so we feel they deserve to thoroughly enjoy their stay here. Sometimes I can hardly believe that we were lucky enough to find such a place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing