We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
shrewsbury, shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2005

just returned from a weekend break at the marine hotel in aberystwyth. I read a few bad reviews before we went so was a bit worried but i neednt of. we had a standard room which had stunning views and was very clean. the breakfast was buffet style and really was excellent lots of choice and a really friendly relaxed atmosphere. we found the staff to be really cheerful and helpful. We found the location of the hotel perfect the car park was a bit small but we managed to get a space and found we did'nt need the car as everything was nearby. We had a bar meal in the hotel one evening which was lovely and quite reasonable, the view from the bar is really pleasant. all in all a really relaxing time was had at the marine hotel we will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sue1963_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    123
    92
    53
    66
See reviews for
102
127
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2005

I know they couldn't do anything about the weather, but the loud party going on downstairs kept us awake half the night, and the double room we paid £80 for was cramped and dirty. Shame they never bothered to tell us this before we booked the room. One side of the bed in our double room was was pushed up against the wall.
For the second night, we were moved to a slightly bigger room, still at the back of the hotel. The "Gym" is poorly maintained, as half the equipment is broken, and we didn't want to risk illness by going into the "Sauna".

They are charging 4* hotel prices for a 1* hotel, and unless you read a honest review about it before, you'll be conned by booking here. Please avoid.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank andygautrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2005

The Marine hotel is a very nice hotel. The staff and facilities are excellent + very good food. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2005

The Marine Hotel is a very nice hotel. The rooms, food and service is of very high standard...Perfect if you're looking for a nice peacefull, stress-free break in Aberystwyth. We don't consider any other in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2005

Like another reveiwer as stated this place really does remind you of faulty towers. The decor is appauling and my room smelt of damp

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2005

Our stay in Aberystwyth was made very special thanks to the Marine hotel. Very nice rooms with superb views, excellent food and service. Highly recommended. Any poor review of the Marine should be ignored as its a lovely hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2005

Bad service, parking for only 6 cars, no ariel on TV, no phone in room, leaky tap, gym not in use, make your own toast for breakfast, sloppy service by stroppy staff, windows don't shut... got at 25% reduction after 1/4 of an hour argument... should of been 100%. Anyone who thinks this hotel is anywhere near adequate needs to get out more.

Steve K

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing