We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Leicester England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here whilst on a busines trip. We'd upgraded to a superior double but sorry to say it did not appear of a superior standard. The room was very small and claustraphobic, although the bed was very comfortable the rest of the room was very tired and needed decorating. There was loads of dust and fluff under the bed and the windows rattled in their frames as they were very old and needed updating. The bathroom was also in.need of an update, there was a jaccuzi type bath that didn't work and looked very old and shoddy. They advertised a hot tub and sauna on site but you have to go out the front door and down some steps at the side of building. We went to have a look but this also looked very tired so we did not use it, which was a shame as that was one of the attractions for us when we chose the hotel. On a more positive note most of the staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was quite nice( although i would recommend going before 9.00 as the food is at it's freshest then) the location is also good

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Serena828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    127
    99
    57
    66
See reviews for
106
137
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Xmas day lunch today was excellent. A carvery with the choice of 5 meats and all the trimmings. Well cooked, multiple choices of starters and sweets and nothing to stop you going back for second helpings. Good service, no waiting from pleasant smiling staff. Sit in the lounge after lunch and Xmas cake and tea and coffee and mince pies offered- if you have any room that is. Excellent value for money and no washing up. Will return next year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 21carolann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed her with friends so had the benefit of seeing 3 rooms. One room (twin) was very small, weak shower but comfy beds. Others were doubles; the first was also very small, bed dirty and broken radiator so no heating, the other double was much bigger, a great shower room but despite the radiator valve working there was no heat coming from it. The main issue is the price you pay for the rooms, they are too overpriced for what you get.

Breakfast in the morning was disappointing. It was a buffet and heavily grease laden , when we got there (an hour before end of service) the choices were running out and no sign of toast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

A family business run by the family - a great advantage over the coaching type hostelry managed by indifferent people. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent - and the Sunday lunches are a talk of the town. Douglas & Susan Thomas

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay here whilst visiting the arts centre. Our twin room with sea view was clean and well equipped with nice comfy beds. The bathroom was adequate for our needs and spotless. Breakfast was self service and very good and We also had dinner in the bar which we couldnt fault. The staff were very helpful and friendly with special thanks to the young barman for excellent service. We will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for only one night (I was booked in for the week) as it was a truly awful experience. The problem comes if you are given a room in the annexe part of the building, which - frankly - is of such a hugely inferior quality to the hotel it does it a massive disservice. The rooms in the main building look nice from the photos, but it is of course a lottery as to whether or not you get one of those

My problems here are two-fold: (i) My room was cramped, smelled of damp and was in a poor state of repair (the blinds fell down as soon as I tried to close them); and (ii) the reception staff were mildly disinterested at best, erring on rude at worst. My room also lacked any wi-fi access, which in 2013 is unacceptable (especially as was in town on business). The receptionist seemed entirely disinterested when I politely asked if I could have a room with wi-fi.

What is worse is that my colleague (also booked in for a week, also only stayed one night) found his room in a terrible state. Not only were there hairs in the shower and a half-eaten Fudge on the side table but - disgustingly - a used tissue beside the bed. When he notified the hotel receptionist of this she just got irritated and was quite rude to him. I'm assuming she gets harrassed and irritated alot working in the Marine but failed to graps the basic tenets of working in a service industry.

There are far, far better B&B's in Aber that are cleaner, have friendlier owners and make for a relaxing time away. Avoid this like the plague.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sorgono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel came highly recommended and I wasn't disappointed.

The Marine Hotel is a traditional seaside hotel with a good location. I was given a first floor sea view room which was clean and tidy. The only negative was the bathroom was a little on the small side.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent - there is both a wide range of hot and cold options.

If you're looking to stay in Aberstwyth, then I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
11.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing