We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total contrast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On a 14 day trip at the welsh coast (mostly Cardigan bay) Aberystwyth was in many ways the absolute contrast to all the other perfect impressions & experiences.
Gwesty'r Marine was with a good interspace the most expensive B&B we had. We did not get a room in the main building, we had one in another house in the same row. Breakfast was served in the main building. We were on the upper floor. A bit narrow the staircase. No elevator.
Let's name some good points: the staff is friendly, competent and helpful. All of them.
The Promenade is "the" place to be. Central and not too noisy.
The breakfast has a very rich bufet with everthing you can ask for. (Maybe a bit more fresh fruit.) It is served in a large, large ball room.
Negative: limited space for cars although there should be ample space as we were told. One of the lots was occupied by one of the staff. When he went I was lucky.
No WiFi in that house, I had to move to the main one, sit in the lounge. Not a bad place if there had not been a hughe wedding party.
Just hot water for the basin, no cold one. (The reception was surprised and promised that it would be fixed asap. I do believe they will do.) Anyway - the shower had both.
The room was very small for a twin.
The bathroom was designed for dwarfs. (We are just average.)
The window was fixed with lower amateur standard. Just a piece of wood to keep it in position.
When looking at my bed I could have gone seasick. (Luckily I am a sailor and can manage to sleep even on a small boat at beaufort 8.)
So it is a bit of a journey back in time. Late sixties I suggest.
After all: Aberystwyth is very popular. The rates are higher as in places like Cardigan or Criccieth. So it is up to you: looking for a crowded place with all the benefits like pier, promenade, shops, bars, pubs and so on - there might be worse places like the Marine.
If you tend to be more up-to-date or love individuality: choose another destiny.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeLoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 457 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A tired example of Welsh seafront hotel but no doubt one of the best in the area. The range of rooms is tremendous and would probably be most suitable as a good cut-price holiday stop. Some of our group had decently sized rooms overlooking the seafront but ours was a garret with an en suite shower, toilet and washbasin the size of a normal WC. Crammed into a small bedroom was a double bed and a single bed pushed hard against the wall with a gap of less than 1 foot between them. We have no idea how the rooms were allocated but more than one of our travelling companions asked for a change. It could very well have been the pressure of a coach load of travellers descending all at once. We would never have booked a room of that size, although tea-making facilities were available and we slept well. To see the sea, it meant climbing into a dormer window alcove and perching yourself on a shelf.

Food was basic yet plentiful, but I have never had to queue up for my sweet to be served up by a member of staff in any hotel that I have visited.

Room Tip: Check the type of room that is on offer when you ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discovery47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked 2 twin rooms over the phone. When we arrived we were given a room with 2 single and a double bed. The en-suite we were told about was non-existent. The jacuzzi and facilities were unavailable due to it 'missing parts.' We asked to change rooms but were told we would have to pay more even though it was their mistake. They blamed in on a new receptionist. We were given a refund and told they would have no problem filling the room that night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A welcoming first impression at the reception desk . Our room was smallish but had everything we needed including an ironing board ! My wife was really happy sitting in the bay window watching the world go by on the Prom and the sun setting over the sea - so was I !

Legendary buffet breakfast with great staff looking after every need .

Decent car parking and if you have left your phone charger at home the reception desk have a range available !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiethandcandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

me & my other half stay here for a 3 day break every year.we always have an enjoyable stay, nice rooms,nice friendly staff & brilliant food, cannot fault the place it's always a joy to go back.so if you want a really nice hotel then this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barleyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

lovelly warm welcome clean and comfy beds definely go again good food good service and in a great position right on the promenade waiters were attentive and very helpful its on bed and breakfast and for extra payment you can have evening meal or do what we did and ask for a package deal you may find it cheaper

Room Tip: we were lucky to have a lovely Jacuzzi in the room we stayed in I would ask when booking and get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulinendoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday 20/7/13 as were were in a wedding reception. Friendly staff and our room was excellent with a beautiful sea view. Everything was provided for us in our room from tea/coffee facilities to a hairdrier. Comfortable beds and nice large bathroom. We were on 3rd floor on front of hotel so had a stunning view of the bay. The food is excellent and breakfast was plentiful. i will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
444 reviews
10.2 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $92 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing