We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked 2 twin rooms over the phone. When we arrived we were given a room with 2 single and a double bed. The en-suite we were told about was non-existent. The jacuzzi and facilities were unavailable due to it 'missing parts.' We asked to change rooms but were told we would have to pay more even though it was their mistake. They blamed in on a new receptionist. We were given a refund and told they would have no problem filling the room that night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    123
    94
    55
    66
See reviews for
103
131
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A welcoming first impression at the reception desk . Our room was smallish but had everything we needed including an ironing board ! My wife was really happy sitting in the bay window watching the world go by on the Prom and the sun setting over the sea - so was I !

Legendary buffet breakfast with great staff looking after every need .

Decent car parking and if you have left your phone charger at home the reception desk have a range available !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiethandcandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

me & my other half stay here for a 3 day break every year.we always have an enjoyable stay, nice rooms,nice friendly staff & brilliant food, cannot fault the place it's always a joy to go back.so if you want a really nice hotel then this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barleyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

lovelly warm welcome clean and comfy beds definely go again good food good service and in a great position right on the promenade waiters were attentive and very helpful its on bed and breakfast and for extra payment you can have evening meal or do what we did and ask for a package deal you may find it cheaper

Room Tip: we were lucky to have a lovely Jacuzzi in the room we stayed in I would ask when booking and get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinendoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday 20/7/13 as were were in a wedding reception. Friendly staff and our room was excellent with a beautiful sea view. Everything was provided for us in our room from tea/coffee facilities to a hairdrier. Comfortable beds and nice large bathroom. We were on 3rd floor on front of hotel so had a stunning view of the bay. The food is excellent and breakfast was plentiful. i will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spent last Saturday night (13/7/13) at the Marine Hotel. The room was excellent. Had everything we needed (coffee/tea making facilities, hair dryer, iron and board etc). Very comfortable bed and a large en-suite shower. We were on the second floor at the front of the hotel, so had an excellent view of Aberystwyth bay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with everything from cereals to black pudding and an unlimited supply of coffee/tea.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front just for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelatikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The location at the prommenade is superb, just at the beach. The Welsh breakfast gives you a great start of the day and you will sleep like a baby after the last beer in the bar. The staff is nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing