We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a family room with a sea view. The room was plenty big enough, with a double and 2 single beds, and the view was fantastic. Everything was clean but it was all very dated and shabby. I know that refurbishment is expensive and takes time, but new bedding would have been a relatively easy thing to do. The duvet cover was frayed and had the life washed out of it long ago. The bathroom was clean but again dated and worn. Plenty of hot water though.

The staff were friendly and helpful both in reception and the dining room. Breakfast was superb, with the scrambled eggs cooked to perfection on both days, soft as they should be.

When the rooms reach the standard of the staff, food and view this will be great plce to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 373 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Friendly staff. Great seafront view from lovely big windows in our room. The hotel is reasonable - the bed covers a little faded, the carpet scuffed but it was clean and the bed was very comfy. The room was the right temperature and plenty of coffee/tea/milk on the tea-making tray. There was plenty of hot water and the shower was powerful. An hour after leaving discovered my son had left behind his cuddly bear - a call to the hotel secured the teddy in the safe until we could retrieve it - top marks for staff friendliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place on the seafront, big room, bathroom nice and clean, huge windows, I love old buildings and this is a brilliant example how to renovate and old place they way it should be done. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Very good value for money, I stayed in more expensive and at the same time worse places. I need to go back in july and will most certainly stay in the same place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I cannot compliment the staff enough on their friendliness and willingness to do anything to make our stay enjoyable. The food was superb - dinner and evening meal and the price was unbeatable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLucitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Evening meal and breakfast were both excellent and of a high standard using quality ingredients. Service was genuinely friendly and all staff were attentive and accommodating. Rooms and decor need updating but very clean and spacious. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

26 of us stayed at this great hotel and 29 for dinner. Beautiful ham hock starter excellently presented, 3 courses for £22 plus coffee and chocs to finish.
Rooms with a seaview were remarkable and rooms without a seaview were clean and warm, all rooms were spacious.
The new owners reopened the bar for us to have a whisky before bed at 2am. The atmosphere was so relaxed we were calm not rowdy so other guests were happy too.
Breakfast was lovely scrambled eggs and salmon, cereals, fruits, nuts( and full welsh breakfast of course) b & b was between £30-80 only!
We stored our suitcases there ALL day after checkout. FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Have just spent last weekend at a reunion of old students at the Belle Vue Royal.
The staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful, it was a nice place to be right from arrival.
In the evening they served us an excellent three course meal which was delicious, and they managed to serve 30 of us quickly and efficiently as well as attending to other guests who were staying there.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with good en-suite facilities.
Breakfast was just right to set you up for the day.
Highly recommended to holiday makers and groups alike.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
471 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vue Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vue Royal Hotel

Address: Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Aberystwyth SY23 2BA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $68 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Vue Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Aberystwyth's magnificent promenade, the Belle Vue Royal Hotel offers accommodation in elegant, spacious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Belle Vue Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vue Royal Aberystwyth
Hotel Belle Vue Royal
Belle Vue Royal Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing