We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunny food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ultracomida

Ultracomida
Ranked #6 of 147 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SY23 2LN
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunny food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ultracomida brings sunshine to your plates, you can order small or large tapas portions, swap and share with your friends, and enjoy a convivial atmosphere.
The food is Spanish and you can really believe you are in the South somewhere. I have had all sorts of dishes there, never disappointed. The wine is also worth a mention as it is varied in its sourcing, from different Spanish regions, and very good, again, never disappointed.
This consistency is commendable, especially since everything is prepared fresh.
The room is not large, so you may have to come in early, or for a late lunch, Spanish style.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Helene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    106
    15
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For lovers of tapas and good cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

What began as a small enterprise in a dead-end street in Aberystwyth has grown into a multi-sited operation with a devoted following from locals who can afford it. It is definitely not the sort of restaurant/deli you would expect in Aberystwyth and that's meant as a compliment. It's more an upmarket Spanish bar than a restaurant. If you're shopping for first class breads or cheeses, looking for a quality snack with a Spanish flavour or just want good coffee in modern smart surroundings this is the place. You can't book a table due to the small size of the room and you will be expected to sit round an immense wooden table with people you 've never met or fight over the odd available stool. This is actually part of the fun. You're bound to find a kindred spirit and the atmosphere is helped by young attentive staff who know their stuff. Parking can be a problem and your best bet is to try the Promenade first, going left or right in front of the Pier.Be patient-Ultracomida is worth the effort.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E15man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ultra-good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fabulous Tapas restaurant, great snacks, wines, cheeses, beers and tapas from around the world.
Cosy seating for about 20+ very continental feel, very friendly staff, quick service considering it's all made to order.
Great little shop at the front of the restaurant as you leave with all the cheeses, wines, olives and tasty bits you had with your food for sale, so if you liked your meal, take some of it home with you!
Try to call in most times I venture to Aberystwyth, though at lunch times it's often full, that's just a a sign how good it is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrispy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The restaurant is only small so one should book. I didn't and they kindly fitted me in before a big group was due. They serve compimentary goodies with your wine. The waitress brought me a selection of olives and when I said I didn't eat olives, she quickly changed them for something else. The tapas I had were delicious. I chose a Spanish wine to go with them which was excellent. I finished with the Turrones - spanish almond sweets - wow! Accompanied by one of the best cups of coffee I have had for a while.
After that i was just in time to see the sun setting over Cardigan Bay!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm a regular and in my opinion this is the best restaurant in Aberystwyth. The food is terrific it is well worth trying for lunch or an evening meal. Lovely staff who are sometimes very busy but I recommend getting a bottle of the house red and sitting back and enjoying the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dultimatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultracomida also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Ultracomida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing