We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant and Deli”
Review of Ultracomida

Ultracomida
Ranked #6 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SY23 2LN
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant and Deli”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This a great place for tapas. The small eating area is at the back of the Deli and serves up lunches, dinners or just a coffee. We (two) had dinner there on a Saturday (need to reserve seats) and chose 9 tapas dishes ranging from £1.50 to £3.50 each, We washed this down with a glass of sherry and then wine follwed by desert and coffee. Total bill £43.50. The service was excellent and the food very fresh and tasty. Place was very clean and we were not rushed to finish. The next day we came back and loaded up on the Balsamic vinegar we had tried the night before , some delicious smoked beef and manchego cheese. Communial dinning was unusal but worked well. One small point is that the list of tapas dishes could include some meat balls and more seafood but this is only a very minor thing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    106
    15
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malvern
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great coffee, food and a place to meet”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

two big round tables make a great shared experience - coffee and snacks excellent for brunch - good fruit juices , excellent staff who were lovely and nothing too much trouble . great place for students and parents to meet.
The attached delicatessan serves lovely cheeses and meats - wish we had one where I live.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spencer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food : service could be better”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

First time at Ultracomida, and the restaurant looked as lovely as the shop. Can't say I'm a lover of the communal tables though, and when it got busy it was quite difficult to fit our dishes on the table.

Food was delicious and plentiful - I highly recommend the cheese selection and the tortilla. The service was somewhat of a let-down. As it got busier it became more difficult to get the attention of the waiting staff, we weren't checked on at any time during our meal, and to top it off they charged the wrong bill to my card!

I'm really sorry to give such a low review, but the service didn't live up to the high standard set by the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jollygoodwebsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable on a Friday lunchtime”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Some people would not like the communal, circular tables seating about 12 but providing you don't mind that the menu is good, the food excellent and the wines on offer very interesting and excellent value. The only down side is the excellent delicatessen and wine shop through which you have to enter the dining area is so conducive that we spent more buying goodies and sample bottles of wine to take home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rataber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really good, and excellent value”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

went in on a saturday night and it was busy. between the three of us we had a glass of wine each,
about 7 or 8 plates and coffee. I was very pleasently surprised at the £45 bill, and will be back to try more. I would highly recommend Ultracomida.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBurton1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultracomida also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Ultracomida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing