We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad hotel in a central location.”
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Wales
Level Contributor
205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Not bad hotel in a central location.”
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Stayed here for 1 night. The staff were absolutely great - really helpful and welcoming giving good info about the town generally. The rooms need sorting despite being refurbished. Mine had a sloping bed and the windows had cracks with gaffer tape covering them. After moving to another room all seemed fine but the finish could be a bit better. Great power showers in some rooms and seemed clean enough.

Good breakfast, again with freindly staff serving.

I remember this hotel from a few years ago and the refurbishments downstairs seem to have taken some of the character out of it which is a shame. Not bad for the price though as I had it cheaper than usual. Not worth the rack rate though.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank collegefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    114
    56
    23
    26
See reviews for
39
141
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I have just spent an evening at this establishment and i would have to say that it is one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in - its like a sub standard travel lodge with added noise and generally poor staff attention to customer care [ there was none]

The breakfast is one of the most unappetisiing i have ever had the misfortune to eat, the waitress just pointed at the coffee in a sullen manner, when asked a simple question, and the whole place smells of stale beer.

To round it off, i couldnt sleep because of the noise from the bar downstairs, the smell of cigarettes that wafted up into my room if i opened the window, form the 'smokig area' below and my room seemed to have a 45degree slant that made standing up quite difficult..

And all this for £85.00 sterling - for which you can get a weekend 4* rate in london - take my advice, if you can get in somewhere else, do so.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Ihave just returned from this hotel and I am still not sure what to make of it. We booked a "Superior Room" AT 65 £ we were their for 5 nights on Friday we had to pay 95£ vastly overpriced. I have stayed in far better hotels in Europe for less a night in Euros! The room was large but extremely crooked it had a drastic slant when you got out of bed to make your way to bathroom you went on a run it was like a downhill slide.The room was very shabby so was the whole hotel it needs a drastic overhaul.The bed was very comfortable but not pillows the bathroom roomy but no toiletries after the 1st day. Tea coffee milk and biscuits 1st day but not everyday.The hotel was very noisy we were right at the door to bedrooms and when people came in at night at all hours they just let it slam noise was dreadful. Breakfast was your basic english fry to greasy for my tastes stuck to toast. served too early 7.30 -9.30.Didnt see a lot of staff only in morning didnt waste any time with pleasantries not rude just disinterested.Very noisy area a lot of speeding cars had bloody noisy seagulls something I never experienced before was like a Hitchcock film!Wouldnt recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Dreadful stuffy smell all iver hotal
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant at the End of the Universe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

Stayed for one night at Harry's in January 2007. Booked a single room, which at £40 B&B is probably fair for the property. Unfortunately, the bathroom was on the other side of the corridor to the room, but as it had been recently refurbished, this was copeable with. The room was a little tired, but as the hotel was only taken over in June last year, I presume that they'll be working around the rooms to update them.

Overall, fine for an overnight stay, and can't fault the VFM.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank patsysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

Position is good near the centre (small car park). The hotel is made up of a number of old houses knocked together with many narrow passages and staircases. Quite quirky and charming really.

We spent one night in a "deluxe" room - room was fine with a large bathroom with a powerful shower (but did not drain) with a proper shower door rather than one these dreadful clingy curtains. Furnishings are fairly traditional. Bed was extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was soso - good quality haddock, black pudding and sausage, but other ingredients on the cheap side (orange juice, terrible "plastic" sliced bread, mediocre and weak coffee) - and not a piece of fresh fruit in sight, just tinned grapefruit segments. Could do much better and a bit old-fashioned in its approach. (Alright if the traditional heavy fry-up is all you like for breakfast.)

Service was friendly. Restaurant somewhat disappointing after the hype on their website - "salmon goujons" turned out to be glorified fish fingers. Fairly good home-baked bread (which made me wonder in the morning why they only offer that industrial-style bread abomination for breakfast. Main course good average, but no more. But price at 150 Pounds for 2 courses for five with two bottles of wine and pre-dinner drinks is not too bad I suppose.

So all in all, the hotel seems about right for its two stars. I would give it 3 1/2 on the TA scale if that was possible. But 80 Pounds for a double on a quiet Sunday night in February seems a bit steep for what you get. This is not London, after all.

Helpful?
14 Thank OwnerAthole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberarth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2005

We had a fantastic lunch at Harrys Restaurant on Friday, and although we hadn't booked a table in advance, we were warmly welcomed and seated at a lovely table with a crisp white linen tablecloth and sparkling tableware.
The atmosphere is friendly and informal, and the service impeccable.
For my first course I choose rillette of fresh salmon with cucumber mayonnaise, my husband opted for chicken liver and fois gras pate, both dishes were heavenly! We had roast beef to follow then a dessert. The bill for two was just under £40 which is very good value, so top marks to Harrys chef and to our waiter who was really exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluebower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

I originally booked one night at Harry's but once I got there, decided to stay for two nights. Hotel was very clean but a little 'worn'. Bed was very clean and cleaner was very friendly, curtious and effecient. Shower cubicle was tiny and room ran on quite a slope causing quite a sensation when sat on the toilet and feeling as if you were falling forward. Toilet seat wasn't fixed properly so care was needed! Restaurant looked beautiful and menu looked delicious but when a table was required at 9.30pm, the kitchen had finished cooking. Residential bar was closed when we returned to the hotel at 10:45pm so we were a little disappointed. Having looked around the area however, definately made the right choice choosing Harry's as it was within walking distance to all amenities

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sharongriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Property: Harry's Hotel
Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing