We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel in Victorian Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Simple hotel in Victorian Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Quite a difficult place to review as Harry's tries to be all things to all people, hotel pub and restaurant. The pub is not my sort of place. Modern and characterless to me with tv screens everywhere.

The hotel rooms - no lift - are spread above the pub and the bathrooms are squeezed into the old rooms. The shower room in my room was modern but with little thought given to practicalities. Nowhere to put your own toilet bags and the rim of the sink was full with the little hotel shampoos etc.

The beds were ok but utility rather than luxury.

A reasonable breakfast.

There is not a lot of choice in Aberystwyth and this place is ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    110
    54
    22
    23
See reviews for
35
135
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Harry's Hotel is in a good central location - right in the town center. This means it may be quite lively at week-ends.

Will you get a nice room at Harry's Hotel? We stayed in room 3, which appeared OK when we first walked in, but as soon as you start to focus on things you realize that everything is in a pretty poor state. The carpet is stained; there's an off-cut of 3x2 to hold the window open; the built-in wardrobe has clearly had a door at sometime, but is now just an open space with broken shelves; the ceiling is stained and cracked from an old water-leak from the room above; and the furniture! You can find better stuff in the community shop on the station platform (check it out). Very worn, and needed a good clean in some cases.

Will you get a good night's sleep? If you're a light sleeper, take ear-plugs and an eye-mask. The wall's are thin, so you'll hear the conversation from the room next door, any noise from the corridor, and the TV from the bar below. The curtains have no capacity to cut down the light, and the glow from the hotel sign next to the window will allow you to find your way round the room at any time without having to switch on any lights.

Will you get a nice shower? Not in room 3 - unless they've fitted a flow regulator to the shower. It's just too powerful (too much pressure) unless you are prepared to have it cold. Be careful!

Will you get a nice breakfast? We don't have a cooked breakfast, in which case it's just the so-called buffet. This consists of miniature cereals, nothing else - no yoghurt, no fruit, no rolls, croissants, etc. Though the waitress will get you some toast, and there is porridge on the menu.

Was anything good about the experience? The room itself had obviously been cleaned, so no complaints about that. The towels were fine. The bathroom was generally OK, apart from the shower.

Was it value for money? In a word, no. This hotel isn't really trying

Room Tip: Avoid room 3, and any other room at the front or over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtemisCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good location and easy to find, good base. However single room was pricey considering very small and only shower room. It runs more as a pub with rooms (why not offer a discount for guests staying so we don't go out for dinner?) and this shows as it doesnt feel hospitality aware. Took 3 trips around the block before I could find the entrance to car park and then had to walk around the block back to entrance..
At night, the room was noisy due to generator and when I complained, this was dealt with by an offer of moving. Breakfast was very good as it was freshly cooked with some great dishes and local food. If room was bigger and less pub feeling, I'd stay again but out of preference I will go elsewhere when I need to stay in Aber.

Room Tip: Phone in advance to ask for directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Top marks for our overnight stay to view the University with my daughter and was impressed by the quality of the room considering the price, far more than a 2* establishment. Staff were outstanding and could not have been more helpful. Had a meal in the bistro, generous portions and good home cooked food, breakfast was also excellent. Fantastic central location also. Would highly recommend and fully intend to use Harry's again. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at Harry's Hotel in February with my son before going for an open day at the Uni. We enjoyed our brief stay very much. The hotel sits at quite a jaunty angle and going up the stairs felt a little like being on a ship! The bistro was excellent (my steak was one of the best I've had), the staff friendly and the bedroom comfy and well equipped. There was a great choice of breakfast which set us up well the following day. The carpark is a bit tricky to find on arrival but there were short stay spaces available in the street in front when we visited. My only criticism would be that the bedroom was quite light through the night as there was a glass panel thing over the door, this would be solved by switching off the landing light which I assumed would happen automatically but never did! I would definitely recommend and would return without hesitation!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kateparki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a series of meetings at the university. The standard rooms are clean, although a little small. Bathrooms are fine. I had to change rooms due to noise thtoughout the night (boiler or air-conditioning). However, the staff could not have been more helpful.

The beds could be a little more comfortable. I also found that the wifi did not work in the rooms so had to resort to working in reception.

Foodwise, both breakfast and the evening meal in the bistro were good.

I will use Harry's again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors and at the front are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Overnight stay only, arriving on a Sunday about 7.45 pm but a small amount of off road parking is available at the rear. Had a late deal so was inexpensive. Very pleased with the quality of the room which had a minor issue with TV noise from a neighbouring room but this was short lived.
Very comfy with all necessary facilities. A good night's sleep and a very tasty breakfast the following morning. Food service stops early on a Sunday - arrive before 7.00 pm if possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TraceyBass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
11.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Property: Harry's Hotel
Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing