We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly not a 2 star place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Certainly not a 2 star place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the end of February for a business meeting up at the university and needed somewhere to stay for the night. And after looking through booking.com I found this place. I really enjoyed my stay, the room was cosy and well lit, had everything I needed. Had a meal in the bistro downstairs, which was very nice. The steak was nice, cooked to perfection. The breakfast in the morning was very good too, left me in a great mood. The choices were varied, not many 2 star hotels have the sense to put healthier breakfasts like boiled eggs or freshly cooked porridge. Would definitely recommend it, if you ever stay in Aber.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    110
    54
    21
    23
See reviews for
35
133
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trefnant
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

1 night stay en-route to Pembrokeshire. First impressions were good, parked on road, need to move car by 9.00am. Bar and restaurant tidy. Mazy corridor to first floor room not a problem. Room spacious comfortable, ensuite, clean, no thrills and better. Few drinks in the bar. Did not have evening meal or breakfast, wish we had tried the brekkie.. Good value and would recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Central, some rooms difficult accessibility for elderly or persons with bad mobility. First floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SteveTrefnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a girls night away and decided to stay in Harry's. Which was a great choice, we had a meal in the bistro and drinks in the bar. Service, food and hotel were really good. We got one of their special offers that they run which was 2 nights for the price of 1. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this Hotel whilst looking at University. We did get a good deal and was happy with the cost at this nice but quirky (the floor wasn't even but was fine) hotel. It was quite an expedition to get to our room as we were going up/down just to get there which was fine for us but any less able person it could had been difficult,especially as there was no lift.

The staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival and departure!

I would had rated this as good rather than average but there was either average or very good to chose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryshotel, Manager at Harry's Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Harry’s Hotel. Our aim is to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. We hope that you decide to stay with us if you travel to Aberystwyth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

had heard this was quite a gastro pub, and had eaten here about 10 years ago. this time it was diabolical. we were an inconvenience to the staff. Ordered fropm menu and told sea bass was off. as a coeliac i am quite limited, so chose a rare steak. It came back rare but cold, and on a cold plate I ate 2 bits from the side, it was tough too. This is the first time i have ever sent a steak back. I asked if it could be heated and put on a hot plate. They said they would prepare a new steak. They sent back the same steak, a bit warmer. Couldnt eat it, and by this time not hungry. so they charged us for the meals less my steak. We will not go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtstb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent one night here last November visiting my nephew in university. As other reviewers have mentioned it's a pub with rooms where the pub is fine and our room was ok, if uninspiring. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was small but clean although there was some noise from the bar. Decent enough value for the money but I may look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirElDoctore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We agree with previous reviews that it feels like a pub with rooms, but we didn't have a problem with that at all. Warm welcome on arrival, and the room 5 was large clean and comfortable. Staff were really friendly and helpful, and although the bar was full and very lively there was no problem with noise in the hotel. Great beer and good food, this place is quirky and great value. If our travels take us back to Aberystwyth we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 was on the first floor but at the far side of the hotel, absolutely no noise from the bar, gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryshotel, Manager at Harry's Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and the feedback you have given. I do hope to see you again soon.

Kellie

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
11.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Property: Harry's Hotel
Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing