We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now called Nick's Kitchen and Restaurant on Portland Road”
Review of Peers - CLOSED

Peers
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Now called Nick's Kitchen and Restaurant on Portland Road”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant. We loved the food (superb!) and atmosphere (simple, uncrowded, understated). I had the cashew and red kidney bean burger and often vegetarian options can be rather bland tasting but this 'burger' was tasty and delicious. My dining companion had the Jamaican curry which was also superb. Would thoroughly recommend, especially for couples. The prices were not too expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jolly boys evening”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having read previous reviews and been impressed by the comments decided to dine here with friends in the evening.We all chose from the specials board and ended choosing four different meals.My steak was ok although very fatty and bits were gristly.Other diners in my group said that their vegetables were cold.Advertised hand made chips but they were frozen chips.Perhaps they just had an off night.Plenty of staff there for the number of patrons dining but they just seemed disorganised.The meals took over half an hour to arrive from when they were ordered and no one else were due to be served before us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aberal1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trying hard, but needs more attention to detail”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Interesting menu is what attracted us. I understand that they had recently moved premises. Service was pleasant enough but could have been a little better and asked us if we wanted a drink when we were shown to our table (as another reviewer had noted, they didn't have what we had chosen anyway). Starter of squid was OK, but not sure about the mayonnaise with it. Main courses were over seasoned - wow! way too much pepper. The slice of cold mango with the overly peppery rubbery steak I think is wrong - it doesn't need it and it doesn't go with the tomato. I think I'd agree with one of the other reviewers and say that it seemed a little amateurish. Trying hard though, maybe a little too hard? I think the steak was over-priced for the quality of what was delivered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank food1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just gets better”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Try the Thai Red Chicken Curry, Doesn't get better than this. MY wife had a really succulent chicken breast with a subtle and tasty sauce. Also, nice house red wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the best place to eat in town. Now that the restaurant has moved to its more prominent site Portland Road lets hope it doesn't get too busy and that I can still get a table. Don't be put off by the seemingly high prices compared to Dominoes Pizza - its worth every penny. The staff are friendly, helpful and always obliging

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peers also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing