We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pembrokeshire, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great day out where you can choose from a number of trails to walk on, depending on how long you want to spend and how demanding you want it to be. An example of one trail is walking along the lakeside, before turning off to head into the tall trees of the forest.

What you'll want to see is the red kites being fed, so you can see the red kites flying in from around the area and circling above the lake and the forest. I think this is done twice a day (the afternoon feeding is normally at some point between 2 and 3).

At the centre there is a good cafe that serves hot / cold food, hot / cold drinks, ice cream and cakes. I've just had a panini when I went, which I was pleased with.

At the time of writing there is no entry fee, you can park at the centre for a cheap rate, or immediately before the centre there is a lay-by for cheapskates like me, so that there is no fee to pay at all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank qwertyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    106
    16
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Red Kites”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Arrive at the time the kites are being fed, and you'll be treated to a wonderful time. The photographic opportunity is fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Truly amazing sight”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited just in time for feeding time at 3pm. What an experience. It's a short walk to the viewing area beside the lake. We didn't see as many as some people have mentioned previously but there were around 40/50. Around 20 swooped in altogether around 25 minutes before feeding time, followed by another large group. The feeding time itself isn't long but the birds remained for well over half a hour afterwards, The cafe is very well priced and offers a good variety of food. In fact, after the feed this was a good place to sit as you were slightly higher and therefore seemed closer to the birds as they flew over. Definitely glad we took the time to stop off here on our way home. There is a reasonable charge for parking, but as watching the feed is free this is a small price to pay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tdyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Kite feeding time”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The centre was very modern with a pleasnt cafeteria.The sight of 100 red kites swooping down for food is awe inspiring

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 955grapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great scenery and good cafe”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The venue overlooks the lake with an abundance of red kites. Café is good value for this type of place. Has some locally sourced products and acceptable coffee. Good parking available and a nice walk around the lake.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David_W186428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing