We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Antaron Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queensbridge Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
46
4
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
4
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdressing roomb blovely comfortable bedaberystwyth townmod consample parkingshort drivecooked breakfastsuitesnoringtelevisionsoundproofinglandladycottage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 54 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I came across Plas y Dderwen quite by accident in 20-11 when staying at a B&B close by - now I don't stay anywhere else when I am in Aberystwyth.

It is only about 10 minutes drive from Aberystwyth town centre and it is well driving the few miles when the tourist season starts at town can get very busy.

From the minute you drive up to Plas y Dderwen, you can see that you are in for a treat as they have been awarded a Five Star Tourist Board Rating.

You are met by your hostess, Carole, who is friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. She is also a Welsh speaker so you have the chance to brush up on your language skills as well!

I have stayed in all of the rooms over the last few months; there is a beautiful suite at the front of the house with a huge roll top bath (believe me, sitting in here with a glass of wine at the end of a busy day is pure bliss) and two big double rooms at the rear, both with en-suite shower rooms.

The rooms are always immaculate and have bedding that you just sink into. There are TVs in each room but I have never heard anyone else's set so the sound-proofing must be good. There are tea & making facilities in each bedroom and a pot of fresh milk to start you off.

Breakfast is a big meal (be prepared!) as Carole likes her guests to leave with full tummies! There is fresh fruit / cereals / yoghurt etc followed a cooked breakfast with toast. Best of all it is all served on bone china and it is a really indulgent experience.

I always look forward to my visits to Play y Dderwen; try it, you won't be disappointed.

(Keri - March 2012)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kericardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Couldn't resist booking the suite as the pictures were so lovely. We weren't disappointed. After our previous nights stay in Llanbedr, this was soooo much better. Another b&b with beige carpets but we weren't asked to take off our shoes here. The decor is superb. The bed was comfortable and the linen good quality. There were fantastic views from the window also. The suite has a dressing room with plenty of storage for clothes but it is the bathroom which is the best part, with a lovely large roll top bath and a very flattering full length mirror. The breakfast was fine with good quality ingredients served on Royal Albert/Royal Worcester china. If I had to find fault it would be that the suite is above the lounge which has a very loud television and music system. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblingRob70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went to Plas Y Dderwen for the Easter weekend and stayed 2 nights in the superior double room. The B&B is situated in surrounding fields just off the main road into Aberystwth which is about 3 miles away.It was a beautifully decorated large room with en-suite shower room. One of the things we noticed straight away was how clean the room was, as is the rest of the house. All the furnishings were of very high quality (especially the very comfy bed!!) and it had a lovely large window with views of the neighbouring fields. The house is gorgeous with high ceilings, chandeliers in almost every room and a grand staircase in the reception hall. For breakfast we had a choice of cereals, fresh fruits, warm toast and a cooked breakfast. We chose them all!! Everything was well cooked/prepared and very tasty. Caryl was a great host and made us feel very welcome, she was always happy to help and even did some of my ironing!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend Plas Y Dderwen to anyone looking stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MingmongWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights last week for my sons wedding, it's the most beautiful house we have ever stayed at and Caryl was so welcoming and friendly, it really was like staying with family, she was so attentive. The rooms are superb andthe decor is to die for throughout the house. The bed was so comfortable, enhanced by quality bed linen and sumptuous pillows. The breakfast was absolutely mouthwatering, ample of everything, from the continental buffet to the full english that followed and all served on Royal Albert china. This was luxury at it's best and really does deserve it's 5 star rating. Thank you once again Caryl for making our special weekend even more perfect. We'll see you again for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in the suite recently.
It was a luxurious large room with a beautiful large roll top bath that we spent ages in !!
Its a peaceful location, a beautiful house and Caryl is a fantastic hostess.
Aberystwyth is 3 miles away, so its very handy.
We visited other hotels whilst in the area, but you wont beat the luxury of this place.
Definitely recommend it for quality and value for money and its so clean.

Room Tip: The street sign for the house is not that big, and could be easily missed. The suite is well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozUkBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews