We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely restaurant with average food.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tynllidiart Arms

Tynllidiart Arms
Ranked #28 of 147 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Great food & service for a reasonable price (especially when group block booking). With the smallet commercial brewey in the world (as per The Guinness Book of Records).
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A lovely restaurant with average food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is the second time I have been to this restaurant. The dining room is well furnished, the staff is very friendly but, for the second time, it was the starters that I absolutely enjoyed. The main course (chicken) as well as the mash was dry, in fact the mash was extremely dry and absolutely bland. I ordered Eaton Mess for dessert only to be very disappointed. Eaton Mess with no meringue?? Awful. I don't think I will eat there again. A pity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    26
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic starters....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second visit and just like on our first visit over a year ago we found the starters to be some of the best we have ever had.

However the main courses disappointed a bit, the chicken was very dry and the mashed potatoes very bland, some salt, pepper and nutmeg would help!

My wife and I had Eton Mess for dessert which again was very bland,NO meringue and tasteless cream with strawberries.

The service was excellent and all the staff very friendly.

The atmosphere is great and the upstairs dining room is tastefully furnished and has plenty of room.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stjohnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday lunch around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Decided to stop at the 'tyn' for Sunday lunch. I had the succulent pork fillet & pork belly..and boy it was succulent! It was accompanied by delicious vegetables, creamy mash, roast potatoes and a mouth-watering red wine sauce. The service was excellent and all credit goes to the staff for working in this current heat wave. Thoroughly enjoyed and I will certainly be back for more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Njr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, strange service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We ate here after graduation. As it is out of town it was quieter and the food was great, especially the steak. Having eaten here a couple of times before I was prepared for the service to be a little unusual with the owners preferring you to sit in the bar area to order and wait to be taken to your table when your starter is ready. In principle this is a good idea but can get annoying when they take a long time to take your order initially. I feel this system needs a bit of reviewing but the experience was otherwise great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anlr712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, good value, lovely staff, full of character.

It was our first visit and definitely won't be our last!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KERRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tynllidiart Arms also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Tynllidiart Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing