We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has potential.”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This hotel has potential.”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

First impressions were OK and the entrance has an impressive staircase. Unfortunately as with many British hotels it did not live up to expectations. We had 2 double rooms both long overdue refurbishment. An eclectic mix of furnishings which included a chair in each room that you couldn't sit in without putting cushions down to sit on - very uncomfortable. Bathrooms were even worse with carpet on the floors and one of them had very dirty stained carpet and skirting boards, the bath panel was rotten and falling off. Because of our late arrival we opted to eat in the hotel bar. The bar area had recently been refurbished and was OK, the food was good when it came but as with all the service at this hotel we had to wait for a long time. We got the feeling they were understaffed and maybe had just taken over the hotel. Having said that all the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. If the owners refurbish the bedrooms and bathrooms and sort out their service, they have a nice hotel with potential.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    167
    66
    17
    12
See reviews for
86
249
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Very pleasant with attentive and friendly staff. Clean, well appointed rooms. Lovely scenery

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneB667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

An excellent stay whilst dropping our son back at university in Aberystwyth from our home in Kent. Stayed in one of the superior doubles in the grounds - very good room with excellent decor and facilities. Didn't have an evening meal but very tasty breakfast with good service. Not the cheapest hotel in the area but will definitely be coming back and would recommend to anyone doing the 'child to uni' trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

After getting new owners this wonderful country house is finally getting some TLC lavished on it. It's not there yet, and there are a few rough edges they've inherited, but I'm sure it won't be long until it shines again. I only stayed one night for a party so didn't get much chance to explore it fully, but the staff were very helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was large and traditional, in keeping with the house. This is a bit of a bargain at the moment if you want to stay in a genuine old country house. A beautiful house in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winer_Diner_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a lovely country house hotel. It was having substantive building work done on ground floor so hard to judge it properly. They also plan to refurb the bedrooms next. This is needed as they are a bit dated in style. Large rooms though. I suspect it will eventually be quite excellent. As it is it is comfortable and pleasant. The grounds and views and setting are lovely. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food is very good. Best cooked breakfast I have had for a while. Menu is sourced with local produce. The hotel is old fashioned but in the good sense of the word. The prices are very fair and it is good value. It is a nice location for Aberystwyth town which is a ten minute drive away.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed for five nights and would liked to of stayed longer. We had a lovely welcome and shown our room which had everything we could wish for, nice and warm with a wonderful view down the valley.
The food is wonderful and what a choice, from the breakfast to the evening meals.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and owners.
Thankyou for making our holiday very special.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miagrace73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Single night stay to drop son off at Uni.
Excellent service in hotel and in the restaurant. Our lamb, beef and cod dishes were attractively presented and the lamb and beef done just as requested. Desserts were simply yum... - plum crumble, creme brulee and the Welsh cheese selection heavenly. Dinner menu well supported with a distinctive wine list.
Liked Rm 2 on first floor of the house for its view and Rm 19 for the space, quiet and bathroom!
We intend to return and enjoy the changes planned by the new owners.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edemello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
472 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
339 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing