We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay- very friendly and helpful staff. Both check in and check out went smoothly. Staff offered to carry my cases to my room. The food was very good and tasty with a good choice of evening meal. Breakfast was also good with lovely views over the distant hills in the dining room. My room (8) was very spacious and very warm- cosy during those 108mph winds. The room had a very comfortable bed with plenty of good quality pillows; two televisions and sofa; lovely views over the hills at the back of the hotel; good quality furnishings with the much appreciated tea making facilities and mugs ( not the usual horrible small cups and saucers.) I appreciated the heating on constant as in some hotels at this time of year, rooms are cold. There is ample parking space and all on the flat to entrance of the hotel. I stay in many hotels as part of my work and interests and this hotel I would want to revisit either on my own or with my husband. It was lovely staying in a quiet area with the hotel in its own grounds and far enough away from the main road to Aberystwyth. It is only a 10 minute drive to Aberystwyth but can take longer during the rush hours of weekdays. I would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rhian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    162
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
85
238
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have just returned today from a 2 night stay at this hotel, with my disabled mother as a stopover to attend her brother's funeral in Cardigan area. On arrival we were informed that, as the lift was out of order, and it was too late on a Friday for the engineers to be called, that we had the choice of a room in the annexe, or mum climbing the stairs, which weren't too bad, but at least we were given the choice. The staff were friendly, polite, professional and apologetic, as they had to separate 2 beds into twins and make them up again, but were discreet and nothing was too much trouble. The room in the annexe was spacious, clean and had amazing views over the gardens, and 2 comfortable chairs which made a lovely area away from the beds to watch tv etc. The access was on a level and car parking was very near, and this was perfect for us.
Breakfast was exceptional, great choice and cooked to a high standard, choice of eggs etc, full Welsh breakfast or smoked haddock, smoked salmon, also cereals, yoghurts, juices, pastries. Could not be faulted, neither could the service, or views from the dining room over the garden.
We got a good deal from online sites and could not fault this hotel, the best we have stayed in for a long time, with exceptional staff, outstanding surroundings, and a feel of luxury which we did not expect in this price range. Also far enough out of Aberystwyth to have that rural feel, but close enough for convenience (5 minute drive).

Room Tip: Room 17 in annexe is a twin overlooking gardens, room 16 is a double with similar view. Lovely and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

From the excellent welcome all the way through our 2 night stay we were totally spoilt. Food was brilliant, staff were really friendly and the accommodation was excellent. A real gem to behold in mid Wales. Please visit you'll enjoy it !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

In the recent stormy weather in Aberystwyth the Conrah was a haven. An elegant country house hotel situated in a picturesque setting with a comfy atmosphere and extremely caring staff. The rooms are spacious and although some reviews have referred to the decor as tired it actual adds to the hotel's charm - it feels lived in and more homely. Staff are hardworking and you get the sense that you matter with their attention to your needs and flexibility in meeting this. The food is very wholesome, high quality and well priced, with the flexibility to switch between the bar and restaurant menus. Overall, a very pleasant experience and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The welcome, instructions and service we received from Nicky at reception were all excellent and the Breton waitress was also very pleasant. Room 4 was very spacious but in contrast the bathroom was rather cramped. The hotel was very warm on a bitterly cold, wet evening. This is an old, traditional hotel in a very impressive house set in most attractive gardens. There are no leisure facilities, beauty treatments etc. The Conrah is handily placed for visiting Aberystwyth, about 8 minutes away by car. The dining room, lounge and bar area are all very attractive but some of the paintwork in the upstairs corridors needs to be renewed. Breakfast was good but, unusually, we did not see any fresh fruit out. Value for money was average compared to other hotels in this area. The outstanding feature of our break was the 3-course evening meal - great home cooking, very balanced and lovely coffee to round it off. We have stayed in this hotel before and would do so again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

we wanted to booked a night away for a birthday but stay local, searched net and found great offer for this hotel. first impressions were good, got taken to our room away from main part of the hotel which we were abit worrid about but in actual fact it was ideal, room was pleasant and spacious with ensuit clean and tidy afew wear and tear marks to be expected. we had a three course meal at a very resonable price and it was delicous, wine was fairly cheap all in all value for money , staff were freindly and polite but we forgot to leave a tip(sorry) we will definatley be booking for upcoming family events and possibly another night stay hopefully in the near future.

Room Tip: cottage like rooms ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

What a great place.The food was excellent,the staff were exceptionally welcoming ,helpful and friendly .The dog was most welcome too this is a beautiful building the rooms are spacious and the views are stunning.There is lots to see and do in the local,devils falls,the beaches to the south and hill walking its is very tranquil and serene
Thank you for a wonderful stay from all three of us
Peter,Sharon and Harvey (the border collie)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing