We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We both had a wonderful 2 night break warm clean friendly hotel.
Room 16 is a delight plenty of hot water and stunning views would recommend the delux rooms.
Food and service was very good.
Now we will have to spend more money as we have fallen in love with the prints that hang on the wall in the lounge.
All in all a lovely experience will come again
Ian/Elaine-

Room Tip: Delux rooms are Quiet with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 525 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here on Thursday, 12 September 2013. When I booked the room 3 days earlier, I had alerted the hotel I was a single female on business. But when I arrived at 5:00 pm on the 12th, I was given a room in some sort of outbuilding (room 15). It was large, but on the ground floor. I was told there was no other room available. I had to spend the night with curtains shut tight and slightly on edge because I was in the middle of nowhere. I'm very well travelled. I spend 2-3 nights a week in hotels. But staying here made me nervous. The doors are very noisy and cause a lot of noise when shut. My neighbors were constantly in and out of their room and toilet constantly - extremely disruptive. Breakfast was awful and slow. There were very few people there, I had to constantly get up and look for a server and the whole experience took 45 minutes. I had to send back the scrambled eggs - they were half raw. So I ordered the porridge - it was watery and tasted like wallpaper paste. When I complained about the room designation upon checkout, the gentleman said they had been fully booked and there was no choice. But when I made the booking 3 days earlier, the hotel's internet site showed at least 8 rooms were available. This hotel may be great for weddings or weekend retreats, but it is not good for business people who only want to sleep restfully and have breakfast in less than 45 minutes on a work day. I won't be staying here again. Oh yes - no wifi or internet service. I was out of touch with my family the entire time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the outbuildings. They are damp and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jonsey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Jonesy52,

I have never before felt a review to be so unfair as to warrant a response. I sincerely apologise that you did not like your room but I have checked on the system and you were indeed the last to book and as such this room happened to be the only one free. As you can see from previous reviews our external rooms are all newly renovated and are of the highest order. Obviously if nerves are an issue then I could not have know this, though I would have thought with at least another 2 rooms near you this would have eased them slightly, especially as you are so well travelled. Unfortunately I am at a loss as to what to say about neighbouring rooms being slightly noisy, had you let us know at the time I may have been able to chat to them. I am also slightly puzzled that if you felt the room was damp (quite a serious problem) the only small mention you make is in the room tip section, not within the review and certainly not mentioned during your stay.

At breakfast time I was the gentleman on reception and the reason it was quiet was most business people had already left before 8am. My young waitress served you and does not start shift until 8am and I have checked the records and you checked out and left at 8:37am so in this time you came down for breakfast, ate and checked out in little more than 30 minutes so am a little perplexed as to the 45minutes?!?! I do however apologise the breakfast was not to your liking, our scrambled eggs are very popular as they are fluffy and not overcooked and you specifically asked for porridge with water and not the usual milk that we provide. Again I have checked the third party websites on the day of your booking and fail to see why they would advertise 8 rooms as they are directly linked to our reservation management system????

As advertised wi fi is readily available and free in all public areas and we are currently negotiating a contract to extend this to every room. We pride ourselves on being a hotel that is perfect for wedding, leisure and business customers alike. We heavily rely on business customers in the winter months and receive a high occupancy due to the fact that business customers select to come to us from their companies.

It is with great pain that I feel necessary to write this response, I hope you can guage through other reviews that any genuine criticism I take on board and proactively try to ammend these problems. However, this review is grossly unfair and has put a blot on our trip advisor that needed to be responded to. I genuinely am sorry that you were not happy but each of our customers is important and I am proud we treat all with equal respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed overnight,with a lie in after breakfast.Myself,Partner and 2 children stayed here for 1 night as we were Racing in Tregaron.Everything closer to Tregaron is booked year on year for this event.so I was concerned why there was still availability in this one.Should not of worried the bed was blissful great pillows and linen the room was clean well decorated and lovely bathroom with lots of hot water.The views are stunning and the breakfast was very good lots of fresh everything.I think the receptionist was called Heled who was very helpful and friendly.
Also they were holding a Wedding in the hotel when we stayed and it did not disrupt us in any way.Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Many thanks for your recent review dmakinson,

It was with great pleasure I read your wonderful review. I await your return to the Conrah year on year from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed a great stay at the Conrah just outside Aberystwyth. Elegant spacious public rooms , lounges, conservatory, good bedrooms and ensuites. Outside summer house in the grounds. Good grounds and parkland . Country landscapes in all directions. Peaceful tranquil setting with just the sheep on nearby pastures and hills being the only outside sounds! Very good evening meal and breakfast. We hadn't visited the Conrah before, although we have stayed in Aberystwyth and Machynlleth on many occasions. The Conrah is another hotel in the area we will enjoy returning to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear CharlesC,

I can honestly say I never tire of reading reviews like this, it gives me great pleasure to hear of another new customer and another great experience. I hope to see you again and add you to our ever growing list of regular customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice room with brilliant views from room on top floor.............good breakfast......restaurant rather expensive.....location wonderful......approx 3 miles outside Aberystwyth on coastal road
Cleaning of bathroom could be improved but overall a lovely 2 night stay

Room Tip: Top floor room no 9 has brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glesni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Many thanks Breconglesni,

I have passed your comments on to the housekeeping team and they were very disappointed to hear of this. I am glad you had a wonderful stay other than this and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel in an idyllic location. Large rooms very comfortably furnished to look like a bedroom rather than a hotel room. Food was of exceptional quality nd a good range of wines and ales available also. n terms of vale for money this establishment would have to be rated as exceptional and we would recommend it to all those seeking more than your usual chain hotel or staying in the local pub. Very quiet surroundings and comfortable beds make for a good sleep.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Althom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Althom,

Many thanks for your recent review. I love your comment about the bedroom and this is exactly what we are trying to achieve, a "home from home" feel for our customers. I look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice old fashioned hotel, great location, close to Aberystwyth.
Staff are very friendly and the food is excellent.
Rooms are large, we had a twin room, a bit old fashioned, but had great views over mid Wales and the nice gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Many thanks for your recent review,

i am very pleased you had such a wonderful experience at Conrah and look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.3 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
10.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Address: Chancery | Chancery,, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $78 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing