We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sparkling Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Quimper, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sparkling Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent two nights in the Conrah during a week-end reunion of friends. Our room (n° 1) and bathroom were comfortable, clean and well equipped. There was a slight noise, as of an electric pump, seemingly from heating pipes hidden in the wall but this ceased at bedtime and caused no disturbance. A meal in the restaurant on the first evening was excellent, similarly for the group dinner on the following evening. Bar service was prompt and the bar well stocked. What puts this hotel way in advance of many others (unfortunately) was the extreme friendliness and politeness of all the staff with whom we came in contact. Congratulations to the management on motivating the team.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear jffrenchepete,

Many thanks for your kind review. As management we are very grateful and proud of the team we have here at the Conrah. I have passed your comments on to them and they are very pleased. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    162
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
85
238
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is about two miles from Aberystwyth and stands back from the road along its own drive. We were in room 17 which is in the annex to the side of the hotel. Guests in hotel annexes can on occasion feel like second class citizens but this was not the case at the Conrah. Our room was large, clean and well-furnished. There were even umbrellas provided should they be necessary.The icing on the cake was a wonderful view across the gardens towards the hills.
The main building was elegant with pleasant lounge and bar, again with great views.
The garden had tables and comfortable chairs and was a very pleasant spot to relax in.
Meals were very good, plenty of choice and decent portions.
All members of staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Margaretmay,

I really enjoyed reading your review and your comments about the annex rooms were wonderful. Each one of our guests are our priority and I am glad you did not feel like a second class citizen.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes for a relaxing country break. The rooms are full of character and tastefully appointed with up to date facilities. The main building is quite impressive, set as it is in an elevated position with glorious views of the surrounding countryside. My party booked two rooms, one family and one double - both were spacious.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and though we only sampled a bar snack we found it to be delicious and satisfying. The full welsh breakfast is exceptionally good and is complemented by a wide range of juices, cereals and pastries.
The hotel's proximity to the coastal resorts nearby make it a good base for exploring the lovely coastline.

Room Tip: Big family rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Stephen W,

I would like to thank you for the very kind words, it was lovely to meet you and you are another example of the amazing customers that make our jobs so wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a B+B or hotel for an overnight stay while collecting our son from University. We read the reviews on this site for the Conrah Hotel and thought we would give it a try. The Conrah did not disappoint it is a welcoming relaxing Country-House style hotel just a couple of miles south of Aberystwyth. The hotel is on a hillside overlooking countryside. Our room was at the very top of the house providing us with stunning views and it was a decent size and well decorated with a spacious bathroom. The public areas, bar, sitting rooms and the dining rooms were pleasantly and comfortably furnished and overlooked the gardens and fields filled with sheep and their new-born lambs. The hotel information states that the hotel is in the process of being refurbished, do not let this put you off. Some of the corridors do show some slight signs of wear and tear, however, this is only cosmetic and is more than made up by the friendliness, warmth and helpfulness of the staff. We decided to dine in and were very pleased we had, as the food was superb and not overpriced. We recommend the Conrah highly and will certainly visit again, next time for more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Darkdweller,

Many thanks for your recent review, as you quite rightly mention the hotel is constantly improving and upgrading as the business allows. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future and give us some opinions on the improvements as they happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

me and my partner visted last week just for food and i must say, 5/5 for presentation, friendliness & welcome..but... the food just let it down to be honest.
My partner had lasagne which looked amazing on the plate, when he started eating it, all he said he could taste was herbs. Not a good sign!
I had the topside of beef which to be honest looked very greyly over cooked and was rather tasteless. This was an absolute shame as the experience itself was 5*. I think the chef needs to be tasting the food before it leaves the kitchen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear sammod,

First of all i would like to thank your for the kind words and am very happy that you were pleased with the service and accommodation. I will be honest I am slightly surprised by the negative food comments, to be honest our chef team have had nothing but fantastic reviews on a consistent basis. This is actually the first negative comment we have heard for the best part of 6 months!

I can only offer my apologies for the meal experience and sincerely hope you will visit us again to offer us the opportunity to show you the experience we expect to give our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely grounds, room had a lovely feel and view of grounds. unfortunately not 100% clean on arrival. However staff were very helpful in rectifying the issues once they were aware of them. We were even offered to swap rooms. We liked the room just needed it cleaned. Food and Service were excellent and it had plenty of character.

Room Tip: Nicer rooms in the original Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellietine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Ellietine,

I am very grateful for all of your kind words despite the error upon your arrival. I would like to assure you that this is not a regular occurrence and am pleased this was dealt with swiftly by the team. I hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel with two children on a deal. It was much better than I expected and I would seriously consider staying there again (without children) when we might enjoy the restaurant. If the excellent breakfast is anything to go by, dinner should be memorable. Lovely spot and very comfortable room. We really found little to find fault with - and we are picky.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Laurence E,

I am very happy that we exceeded your expectation, your kind words were a pleasure to read. I hope you will get the chance for a little escape without the children to sample the cuisine in our increasingly popular restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing