We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Conrah Hotel on a LivingSocial deal.
We had a most enjoyable stay.We were allocated a room with a stunning view which was further enhanced by the excellent weather.
The room was well decorated with some personal touches that made it even more welcoming.
We had a comfortable nights sleep and could not fault the room.
Breakfast was top notch.It included a range of delicious fruit juices,choice of cereals and fruit and a beautifully presented and appetising Welsh breakfast.
The view from the dining room again was stunning. It overlooked the garden at the side and is an ornithologists dream. During the time it took to eat our breakfast I observed no less than eleven different species of bird.
I must make a special mention of Tim, the guy on reception.He was so charming and helpful he made our brief visit to the hotel extra special.He is a real asset to the hotel and certainly knows how to give a warm,Welsh welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear moggo,

Many thanks for the kind words. It was the first time we had put a deal on living social and have been overwhelmed by the response and how much of a pleasure it has been to deal with the customers. I has passed on your comments to Tim and it has left him grinning from ear to ear.

I hope to see you again at the Conrah.

Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 524 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited on 14th April.Impossible to find criticism.Very welcoming,especially young man on duty who proved to be courteous and efficient.Accommodation very good,food excellent.Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwynneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

HI Gwynneth,

Many thanks for your kind comments, I have passed on your special thanks to the staff member and he was very happy and said it was an absolute pleasure to meet you.

I hope to see you again

Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

highly recommend this hotel for your stay, we booked a mid-week break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We were able to take our dog and had a lovely room, very airy. Had a great night's sleep the bed was so comfortable.

The food in both the restaurant and bar was of a very high standard and large portions. Breakfast was also very good.

The hotel was very friendly and accommodating, there was an old fashioned element mixed in with the new and both worked very well. Great views.

Highly recommend this hotel for your stay. If we are ever in this area again, we will definately book this hotel again.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, which was room 8, it was far better than we would have expected, the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Catherine F,

Reading your comments brought a smile to our faces, it was lovely to have met you and I hope you visit the area again and become a Conrah regular.

Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here several times.It is well placed for visiting Aberystwyth and surrounding area. Given that the quality of accomodation in the town is generally poor, this place doubles up with nice rooms and a good quality restaurant.

I enjoyed the evening sky from the window of the bar - the views down the valley to the mountains in the distance are stunning. Dinner was fine, decent sized portions, good selection on the menu and attentive service. Not so good for my colleagues who had been promised a sandwich as they wouldn't be back until after the chef had finished which turned out not to be possible.

Plenty of reading material available if you want a quiet evening and an early night. I didn't get a good night sleep as there was an electromechanical hum in my room which appeared to be worst at the pillow and persisted all night. I was woken early by noisey plumbing from the next room.

The breakfast menu was good made up from freshly cooked local produce, though the buffet selection was sparse.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Many thanks Alister C,

I was pleased to hear that on the whole your stay was as good as you have come to expect. I read with some dismay at the lack of food available for your colleagues, please rest assured that this has been rectified in house and food is always available to our residents. I realise this doesn't help your stay and for this I would like to apologise.

I have contracted an engineer to upgrade all of the fridges and reduce noise emitted, as this was the only thing I could think would make such a persistent noise.

I look forward to seeing you at the Conrah again very soon.

Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was put up here when I spoke in Aberystwyth and loved staying here. Our room looked out over green fields filled with sheep owned by the hotel. One morning I went out with the owner to feed the sheep and got to meet the very friendly black sheep, who came when he was called. Our room was quiet and cozy, and the breakfast was delightful and delicious. The WiFi did not reach our room, but was accessible from the main house, which had many quiet sitting areas in addition to the breakfast room. The hotel is a 10-15 minute drive from town through very pretty countryside. This is a delightful place to stay and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a country retreat!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvictoriap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear mvictoriap,

Many thanks for the review, I was very pleased to read of the pleasant stay you had with us. Feeding our pet lamb (more of a sheep really now) is something that many of our guests love to do and hopefully adds to the personal detail we aim to provide.

Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel just outside the town - the views are stunning!

Food and service are superb - I was a lone guest and felt cared for throughout my stay. Staff were attentive without being over the top.

The room was on the top floor and the climb was rewarded with an amazing view.

In other parts of the country £85 would get you a single room with a view of a back alley! This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in - well done everyone at the Conrah and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Many thanks MadMeerkat,

It was lovely to read your kind words, I am so happy that you feel we are excellent value and look forward to welcoming you back to the Conrah many times again.

Regards
Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Conrah and will be going again for the night in May. Can't fault the place which has lovely views & spacious, clean & cosy rooms. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely lounge area with reasonable drink and food prices. A lovey nights stay was topped off with a very enjoyable breakfast.

Thank you Nathan and team.

Room Tip: The first visit we stayed in room 9 which is on the top floow & entails a few stairs to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warmit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi warmit123,

It was more than a pleasure to host your stay. I am glad we could play a part in you having such a lovely time away. I look forward to seeing you again later this month.

Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
444 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
332 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Address: Chancery | Chancery,, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $90 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing