We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great return visit”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Although I've stayed at the Conrah before this was the first time with my wife.
Service was excellent and very friendly, the room was lovely with wonderful views. The hotel building has many beautiful features and the grounds are extensive and interesting including a ha-ha. We didn't dine since we were there to see a play but breakfast was brilliant with scrambled eggs cooked just as we like them. (Not in the microwave!) The only minuses are a little odd because they would be so easy to fix. There was only one bedside table for our double bed but with plenty of space on the other side and there was only one bath sheet. I'm sure another would have appeared if I had asked.
An ideal hotel for leisure or business.

Room Tip: For the best views get a room on the west side. The second floor room we were in had marvelous views...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Many thanks for the kind words, We are currently on the process of going room by room to re decorate where necessary and also replace furniture such as bedside tables etc so hopefully these little oddities will be sorted out. I would like to apologise for the lack of towels, these are little niggles that we are eliminating to ensure a more consistent hotel. I hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Conrah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 510 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed overnight last Saturday, with elderly mother-in-law, 22 year old daughter and husband. Had 2 rooms, both rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Lovely large baths. One room overlooked the hills and you could see for miles in the distance, the other overlooked a lovely garden. Breakfast was very tasty, good choice of cereals, juices and yogurts. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lift was very useful as my mother-in-law was on the first floor and has limited walking.

Room Tip: Room 2 good for twin beds and views stunning.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Many thanks for the kind review, I am glad we were able to give you such a pleasant stay. I hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here 1 night before Christmas doing the uni collection visit. We had stayed here previously last year in one of the large 'cottage' annexe rooms at the back which are beautifully decorated. This time only needed a single at a reasonable £50 rate and was pleased to be upgraded to a nice double in the main building. Having once stayed in one of the quite well rated hotels on the seafront (nice to be on the seafront, but in reality it can be noisy with cramped rooms, tiny ensuite with just a shower, and breakfast in the basement), personally much prefer to stay at the Conrah and get a room probably twice the size with a large bathroom and bath, easy car parking and have breakfast with lovely countryside views for only a little extra cost compared to the seafront places. The Conrah staff were friendly and welcoming too. Good to see hotels like Conrah, Nanteos, and some decent B&Bs in Aberaeron offering good quality alternatives to the often mixed standard sea front ones in Aber.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, I am glad you felt the rate was reasonable. We do as standard offer the upgrade to a double room where possible. I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Conrah Hotel is within easy travelling distance of Aberystwyth. It is excellent value for money. We had a lovely large room - complete with teddy bear that can be adopted! The hotel is warm and comfortable and the staff looked after our every need. The breakfast was delicious and the restaurant had fantastic views of the garden and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

It was lovely to read your review of the hotel, all of the staff got a kick out of reading the lovely comments. The only question is.........did you adopt the teddy bear??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here on New year's evening on a spur of the moment booking. We chose it as it is out of Aberystwyth on the main road towards the port of Fishguard where we had a lunchtime sailing to catch. As we approached The staff were wonderfully welcoming and invited us into the New Year banquet celebrations despite us only wanting a limited menu on the evening. The food was excellent, both the evening meal and the breakfast in the morning. Our room had a lovely view over the valley and was well appointed, clean and comfortable. All in all a really good last minute decision, somewhere to be revisited in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely to have a chat to you on New Years Eve and I am glad you found us. I sincerely hope you had a lovely beginning to the year in Ireland and hope to see you again on your next trip through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently stayed here for just one night when my son was returning to uni. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although it was a quiet evening the food was very good and presented in a professional manner. We had a fantastic nights sleep and it was only interrupted by a rattle on the sash window in the morning.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent and the view from the dining room were fabulous.
The hotel does look in need of a bit of tlc in areas, but it did not distract from our stay and we would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lolantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words. As we may have told you during your stay, we are currently in the ongoing process of re decoration and giving the building the TLC is deserves. We hope to see you again in the near future and you can see the progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here 7/1/13 travelling on business. The service was excellent and the room was of a high quality. The food was outstanding! Also has free wi-fi which was essental for me being as I travel for business. The hotel is a few miles from Aberystwyth but for me that was an advantage as its situated off the main A road that I needed to travel on. It is set back from the road so I didn't have to put up with any noise either. I don't normally leave positive reviews as I'm a hard man to please but this hotel really was great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardiff_boy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

cardiff_boy86, Many thanks for your review. I am so glad we offered everything you wanted as a business client. I hope to see you again the next time you have business in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $91 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing