We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vaue, highly recommended.”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the Conrah on business for one night.

Room rate of £75.00 B&B which was fantastic value. Staff were very friendly, food good ( breakfast better than evening meal) and bedrooms large, clean and warm. One of the best nights sleep that I have had in a hotel.

Relaxed atmosphere in the lounge and bar. One or two issues in the bathroom with mould on seals but overall excellent value for money.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAMCYMRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear RAMCYMRU, I was really pleased to read your review. With regards to the bathroom issues we are working tirelessly to improve all of our rooms through renovation. The next time you visit I will be interested to hear your views on the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Conrah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 510 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

we decided to re- visit the conrah after getting married there 9 years ago, Our daughter is in Aber uni so we thought the location would be ideal so we booked for one night. We booked a room in the courtyard (18) we arrived quite late in the evening and had a hassle free check in by a very nice male member of staff. The room was very nice (although it was little cold it soon warmed up once we turned the rads up. The room and bathroom were very clean we had an excellent night sleep in a comfortable bed with no disturbances or disruptions. Whilst the room was fine I did notice that there was a few knocks and scrapes to paint work and walls but nothing major, the bathroom radiator was a bit rusty it worked perfectly though. The TV worked fine, the sofa and chairs were very comfortable. Our breakfast the next morning was lovely all locally sourced produce and well cooked. After breakfast I had a look around the hotel as I wanted to see how much it had changed since our wedding. The manager made time in his busy day to show us the changes that had occured and told us how in the last 9 years the hotel had gone through a difficult period it had changed hands twice. The current owners are working hard to re- build the hotels reputation back to what it used to be. They have made some major changes and have extensive refurbishment plans in the pippeline all of which will help re-establish it as one of the leading hotels in the area. They have made great start and things can only get better. We will stay there again and I for one will look forward to seeing the Conrah transformed back to its former glory Good Luck Guys

Room Tip: The court yard rooms as they have views over the gardens. the courtyards are more private
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alysonvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Alysonvaughan, many thanks for your kind words. From my point of view it was lovely showing you around and hearing of your past experiences in the hotel. My apologies for the knocks and scrapes in the room, after a busy wedding season we are trying hard to fix all of these annoyances. As you mention we have got some big renovation plans and I really hope to see you again so you can see the Conrah move into its next stages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This has been our hotel of choice for visits to Aberystwyth the past few years and we now look forward to our trips there. The main pluses are the general comfort of all the rooms in the hotel whether it be bed, sitting room or dining room. The bedrooms are enormous. The food is excellent. It is nicely cooked and presented. The breakfasts are outstandingly good and the views from the dining room are spectacularly wonderful. There is always someone helpful at reception at any time and if one is sitting in the lounge, a drink is always quickly offered.

Room Tip: Our room was easily reached: we think it is the same for the majority but have only experienced the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Brian F, it is always a pleasure to see you at the Conrah. To read reviews such as yours makes us all extremely grateful and inspires us to continue to improve our service further. We will count down the days until you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of October , room was clean and large , we had asked for a family room but it was booked but they had another large room which had plenty of room form two children's beds, my only complaint would be the room was very cold when we 1st arrived . All the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and quite a lot of choice for breakfast .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fizzrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thankyou Fizzrachel for your kind words about the hotel. I was disappointed to hear of the room being cold for the arrival, this was a boiler / timer issue in October that has since been rectified. Hopefully you will visit again and the room will be toasty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Returning to stay a couple of times in the beginning of October and enjoying the rooms in the buildings in their beautiful grounds as much as those in the house. The Autumn colours are fantastic in their gardens; this is a good season to visit west and mid Wales. Had dinner in the restaurant for the first time, with short menu and wine list, offering good value for money. The steak was excellent. Pity they can't manage the standard of somewhere like Y Ffarmers at Llanfihangel y Creuddyn, in the Good Food Guide, worth the drive for dinner. Still, with the parking and the great location, a good place to stay of real comfort close to Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thankyou RogerTomlinson for your kind words. I can see that you have been with us before, hopefully this means you will be one of our new regulars. Maybe next time we can have a chat about the restaurant and the comparison to Y Farmers, I would be very interested to hear your take on this as we are always looking for ways to improve the customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pleasant, quiet country hotel, a few miles outside of Aberystwyth. My room was in a refit farm building adjacent to the main house. Room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom spacious and modern, the heated towel rack was a nice touch. View from room was of the farmyard.
The main building housed a comfy lounge and bar with great views over the pasture and sheep (no sea view). Breakfast in the main building was "full British" and quite good.
Overall, a relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view avoid the annex.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Many thanks keith J for your lovely review. It is a pleasure to give our customers a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went to the Conrah on it's Sunday night deal - buy a meal for £50 and get a room for £10 with breakfast included. My daughter took me and it was good - the room was huge and beautifully decorated, the food was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bathroom could have done with a bit of upgrading but the owners are on a prograame of refurbishment so that will probably happen soon. Only one minor moan - tell the cleaners to clean the windows - there were cobwebs and dead spiders on the inside of the windows. But I will do it again....

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 - lovely views to the front and the side.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Many thanks for your very kind words. As you say we are in the process of renovating the rooms, as you can appreciate this is a slow process but we feel we are starting to make good progress. The Sunday deal has been very popular so we will run it again sometime this year.

We hope to see you again soon and get your valued opinion on some of the improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $91 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing