We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

I tell you now that this hotel is soooo over priced its unbelievable!! I stayed there for one night only because the attitude of the man in charge there was beyond acceptable!! private car parking... yeah for 2 cars one being his. I'm sorry I couldnt give this place time of day!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lesley1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    70
    68
    47
    86
See reviews for
80
91
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

We read the reviews here on Trip Advisor saying it had been under new management since Oct 2004, so we got booked into the Four Seasons by a national booking agency who told us it was a three star hotel.
Not a bit of it. The illuminated sign (right ouside our bedroom - No5 - window, and very bright) proclaimed two AA stars. I feel this is somewhat generous too. The tourist Information office says its star rating is actually under review at present.
Our first room - No5 - was at the top of the main stairway. The fire door was just outside our room and banged very loudly every time it shut. The main corridor serving the first floor was outside our bedroom door and very busy and we could clearly hear voices of all the people coming past, as well as every footstep along the corridor. The room was street facing and Aberystwyth on a Bank Holiday seems to suffer from boy racers in cars without silencers roaring past. It was so noisy that we were forced to ask to be moved to a quieter room, or we would not have slept much at all.
The new room - No8- was better, and was actually two rooms plus bathroom, but more importantly, at the back. The bathroom had a large whirlpool bath which we enjoyed. The room however had peeling wallpaper and the towels were so frayed, they would be rejected as donations by a charity shop.
The breakfast, as noted by other correspondants, was indeed most satisfactory. It was served buffet style, with tasty ingredients which I would guess to be local produce.
My overall impression of the Four Seasons was that its niche was as a cheaper seaside guest house. As a hotel (three star or otherwise) it was over-rated and over-priced at £75 for a double, even including breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank IT_BagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Derby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2004

The welcome was very good, the jacuzzi room a very special place and the breakfast something to be afraid of if your not a big eater. new owner getting it right.

Helpful?
6 Thank jonesy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2003

We always stay at the Four Seasons Hotel when we go biking around Wales. It's one of the best we've ever been to. The food is delicious. The staff are very friendly. It's the best place to rest and put your feet up before starting off on another jaunt down the coast! A home from home.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sokil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2003

I had a very enjoyable stay at this friendly hotel. The quality of the rooms and staff were good, which greatly enhanced my experience of Aberystwyth.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2003

This is the most terrible hotel in the universe. The rooms are filthy, disgusting, and we had no toilet papers for 2 days despite asking repeatedly. Whatsmore, there is no phone connection in the rooms and to cover for this the owner lies to guests and 'pretends' to connect. He even lied to my sister and told her I was out just to avoid admitting you can't call into the rooms. All in all, a disgusting hell hole.

Helpful?
12 Thank katieboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
11.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Four Seasons Hotel
Address: Portland Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Four Seasons Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing