We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Needed somewhere to stay when we went to the Uni Open day and had a prefect visit. Our room was Huge, fit for a King. Bed where very comfortable and the shower was lovely. Breakfast was very filling, only slight complicate would be that the windows where hard to open, but that maybe down to us being stupid! ha. Overall, lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 346 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for Saturday 1st March 2014. We had left home early that morning & drove 4 hours to get to a Aberystwyth Uni open day for our son. We spent alot of time on our feet going from one campus to another so my son could compare Uni halls. It had been a long tiring day when we finally turned up at "The Four Seasons" at almost 5pm that night. You can imagine our surprise when we were told that a rowdy wedding party the previous night had trashed our rooms and they had no rooms for us even though we had pre-booked!! Total Shock!! They had "arranged" for us to go to a sister hotel on the sea-front. It turned out to be a inferrior hotel and instead of two rooms we had to put up with all four of us in one room. I believe this was a scam. Over book on the better hotel in a group & on the day move some on to your sister hotels. It would be interesting to see if this is usual practice for this hotel, posts welcomed....

Room Tip: Can't rate this hotel as they let us down with NO NOTICE. We never got to stay here.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank roost373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Was working in the area for 9 days and was given this hotel to stay in. Has a central location, so ideal to walk to the sea front, pubs, etc. Rooms are dated and had a feel of a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel, but having said that it served its purpose. No complaints.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Many thanks to the Four Seasons for accommodating us after our evacuation from the seafront this weekend. Our check in was amazingly quick given that we hadn't pre-booked this accom and we were in rooms within a couple of minutes of arriving. My room was lovely, spacious and clean, as was my bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the self service breakfast was a great start to the day. Some of the previous reviews are harsh, it's not 5 star luxury but it is brilliantly located, clean and cosy. Having visited Aber for years and never stayed here, I wouldn't hesitate to book it for a future trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayQueen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Going thro the reviews I have read about this place, it seems like they put u up in a big single room quite often.
I booked two double rooms. A woman called me two days b4 we were traveling to confirm the time we were arriving. I told her I wasn't sure. When we arrived there late evening they said we have a big single room and we had told them we were ok with it.
Finally we had ash to speak to the manager who was loud and arrogant, but sobered down when we were adamant.
Since he gave us no choice but take a 50 or so quid concession, and some stupid wine which we didn't take had to adjust into this single room.
We were a couple and two friends. Hence the gals and guys had to sleep separate in the room.
Will advice never to visit this place.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Riyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this place on arriving in Aberystwyth without any advance bookings and, unfortunately, it turned out to be an open day for the uni so the town was pretty fully booked. This place purports to be a hotel but has the look and feel of a youth hostel. We took the last room that was available which was a very small double room with exclusive use of a bathroom down the hall for £70. Room tiny. Mattress appeared to be a queen size but on a double bed base so edges of mattress were unsupported and you tended to roll off on getting near edge of mattress. TV remote didn't work. Room overly hot. Place was generally very noisy just from people moving about above and on same floor. The staff were the only saving grace of this place as they were helpful and pleasant. Lesson is book ahead, even in the low season.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiriRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

First of all if you do visit this hotel avoid room 17, bathroom has what appears to be damp patches on the ceiling. Room was ok, heating didn't appear to work although not required as it was mild and an electric heater was supplied. Lots of noise late at night from above the room that may have been a water tank heating, not sure but very noisy. Door to room rattled in the frame especially when other doors in the corridor were opened. Duvet didn't seem big enough for the bed, either covered the feet or could be pulled up over shoulders, not both! Buffet breakfast seemed ok, and the hotel was quite full so maybe I was just unlucky. Can park car on street outside but check time restrictions. Had I been asked if everything was ok with my stay I would have stated what I have just written....but I wasn't.

Room Tip: Avoid room 17!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: $57 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Four Seasons Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing