We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected after reading the reviews!”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than I expected after reading the reviews!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked in for 2 nights at the last minute and after reading the reviews from other guests we were half-expecting a nightmare stay. However, I was left slightly disapponted to find there were no Basil Fawlty moments anywhere in sight.

The hotel is centrally located, giving easy access to all that Aberystwyth offers. The reception areas and dining rooms are nicely appointed and decorated, giving a good first impression. The welcome we received was good after managing to park on the compact car park without too much difficulty (must be about 20 rooms but car park only holds about 8 cars). The overall impression I got was of a 'work in progress', as although it is clear to see there has been some investment in the reception rooms the stairways & bedrooms still need to be given a similar facelift in order to rid them of the rather dated carpets and woodchip wallcoverings. But having said that, I do accept that maintaining and refreshing accommodation is a never-ending task and there are always going to be things that need to be improved upon.

Despite booking only a Double Room we were allocated what appears to be the Family Room (Room 12), containing a double bed as well as single and bunk beds, situated on the top floor of the hotel, with an adjoining private toilet/shower room. As stated previously, the carpets and wallpaper need to be replaced to revitalise this room, and the owners really need to do something about the green light that is constantly on overnight in the ceiling of this room. I assume this is an 'Emergency Lighting' requirement but even with curtains drawn and lights off the room remains very brightly lit and I can imagine this being a big problem for many. The vallance sheet around the single bed was very dirty and tatty, but as we had only really booked the double bed I am prepared to accept that maybe they hadnt had chance to properly prepare the other beds.

There was plenty of bottled water in the room and toiletries in the bathroom. The buffet breakfast was good and regularly topped up. All in all, it was a decent place to stay, although for the money I expected a slightly better standard of decor in the bedrooms. But sadly there was no sign of any incompetent Spanish waiters or rampaging ignorant buffoons throughout our stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireRingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    70
    69
    47
    87
See reviews for
80
92
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A small intimate hotel close to the beach and city centre. An easy walk to all areas.

Rooms I had (No. 8) was very spacious, quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable and large enough for me at 6'2". Tea, coffee, water and biscuits supplied in room.

The breakfast was very nice with cereal, fruit, juices, and hot options also available.

The service and hotel staff were very helpful and efficient and always willing to assist.

The only drawback is the shortage of parking, this however is the same a most of the hotels in this centre.

Overall a very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay at the Four Seasons Hotel on my next visit to Aberystwyth.

Room Tip: No 8 overlooks the patio area, has windows that open for fresh air and is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tingdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here 14th and 15th june, visiting my daughter, read reviews after booking, and was a liitle apprehensive, but all I needed was a bed for two nights.Checked in ,plenty space in carpark,receptionist was lovely very friendly and chatty,got my key, room on first floor, opened the door and was most pleasantly surprised,lovely clean airy room and massive bathroom with huge bath and shower,everything anyone could possibly want,Telly two chairs,dressing table and small table in bay window.Plenty of lamps, really really nice.I had a lovely sleep very comfortable bed.Breakfast was fab,especially the sausages ,yum yum.! And plentiful with a help yourself style hot buffet and the usual cereals, fruit and yoghurts available.Staff in breakfast room very friendly and helpful. Reception and sitting areas really modern and looked cared for.Thank you staff of Four Seasons I had a lovely time and I would definitely stay again ;-))

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayoNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place was lovely. The owners seems to have taken notice of the poor reviews, but it was grand. Breakfast was great, nothing beats a full English buffet. The only fault was that we were originally given a room with a double bed, but the cook was sent up and fixed it with no delay. That lass needs a raise, she did a great job. Overall, very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4oursword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Photographs of bedrooms very misleading we had bedroom number 3 which was described as a double room, smallest double bed ever slept in! I say slept in not a lot of sleep as bed too small and room warm unable to turn down radiators. Shabby bathroom and not the cleanest.
Positives, bottle water in room and breakfast was good. We have stayed many times in Aberystwyth as our daughter has been in University there, not at this hotel but at Harry's Bar. They were fully booked as it was half term and booked late, should have realised that this Hotel not the best as they had rooms available!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can view on internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan64186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice look from outside but inside totaly different. A lot of noise, you will hear your neighbors around. The blanket cover and the carpet were very dirty. We hadn't the possibility to change the hotel due to we were transfered from an other one because that had problem with our family room. Ok we went late to bed and woke many times up during the night. The certain weren't good enough to keep the room dark, especially in our case was a street light directly in front of our room. Find an other one to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torstensuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
188 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice reception, bar and breakfast room + top location for the town centre but the rooms and bathrooms are budget as you would expect. Ok breakfast, nice reception staff, clean if dated bedrooms and bathrooms but for a £70 double room, ok!

Room Tip: Away from the front if you do not want late night noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Four Seasons Hotel
Address: Portland Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HRS, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Four Seasons Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing