We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and view”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room and view”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at this hotel and was very impressed with the room, very comfortable and relatively spacious which was unexpected. fabulous view of the promenade. WiFi worked well throughout and staff were friendly and helpful.

Good breakfast with eggs and hot items cooked to order and decent plunger coffee!

Well located for restaurants and services, including laundromat in the next street.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    151
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
196
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night during the May Bank Holiday weekend.
The location is really good and the hotel was was very clean and tidy with welcoming staff at all times. You here the term "Room with a VIew", well this really is applicable here as the view looked right on to the sea where you could watch the sunset from your room sitting in the two comfortable chairs placed in the window! There is free car parking and wi-fi and breakfast was very good. The bonus here, being that as the breakfast room is actually two rooms, the hotel are able to lay out individual tables for each room. There is no trying to grab a table and sitting where someone has just eaten waiting for it to be cleared!
Two minor niggles for us was that the bed was not overly comfortable for us, although I imagine it would be OK for some and the shower cubicle is very small, although a very good shower.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a one night stay on Saturday night, we had been unable to book 2 nights here so moved from a guest house in the morning. Our room was ready early so they let us book in at 11.30 which was really helpful as it was raining and my friend was very unwell.
There is a car park at the back which is also a bonus.The staff were excellent , the breakfast had a great choice and free range eggs which a lot of hotel chains and restaurants fail to have.
My only criticism which prevents the 5 was the bath as it did not have a good seperate usable shower and shower curtain or screen. If it had it would definately be a 5.
Besides wonderful views of the sea we also saw a most incredibly beautiful sunset from our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while working in Aberystwyth. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was comfortable with a nice sea view and the breakfast tasty and well presented. It's a traditional seaside hotel that pays attention to detail. I would stay there again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scallyetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed recently overnight in the Richmond Hotel in Aberystwuth. It was an off the street late booking. The room was facing the sea, which was lovely. The room plain and clean but nothing special. A nice stay. The breakfast was ok, the hotel is uncluttered. Good for a few nights and at least its at the end of the prom where the traffice can't go!

Room Tip: It staying, its worth paying for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location on the seafront with great views over the beach. We were there on a sunny day so got the best of the location. The staff were friendly staff and welcoming, during our short stay (24hours).
The room was large and more than enough for our short stay. Nice to see coffee and tea in the room.
Bathroom looked to be newly updated, had a big bath and plenty of room.
We ate in the hotel restaurant, which had reasonable choices for a small hotel.
Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The first impression of this hotel is very "Fawlty Towers" however the staff are helpful and friendly and this impression was quickly dispelled. The decor is very tired, but the public areas and my room were clean and comfortable. Unfortunately I had a couple of major issues with my room (No. 8), it is on the first floor directly above the bar and at about 11pm someone started reorganising the furniture noisily and this went on until about midnight making it impossible to sleep. Another barrier to sleeping was the light from the street, the curtains were so thin that I could read a book using the light from the street lamps even once the curtains were closed. If they had invested in some black-out linings for the curtains and did't reorganise the bar in the middle of the night then I'd give this hotel a much better review but as it was I didn't sleep and that was my main reason for staying there.

Room Tip: Don't take room 8 if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing