We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Rewarding Richmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still Rewarding Richmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I along with 2 other colleagues stayed here in early November 2011. This will have been our second visit in recent months. the hotel had been decorated since our last visit. Our particular room was spacious , clean and comfortable. Once again we had the outstanding vista of the bay. The food both dinner and breakfast and service was still excellent along with the staff.

Room Tip: Just request a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffmaryPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    149
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
193
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Arriving late and hoping for a one night stay, we were told that it would be £95, with no discount even though we needed to leave before 7.30 am on the Saturday. The hotel seemed very quiet, but the room was not very clean (cobwebs on the windows, which were very dirty outside too and did not open). The curtains were all very faded, and the room smelled musty. The cheap 1970 style light bulb with shade lighting was not great and the bedside table sloped so that a glass bottle of water slid down twice before we realised that the thing was not level! The shelf, which was the dressing table also sloped! The bedding was very nice but the mattress made me want to hang on to the edge as, over time the edges had been flattened so the middle of the bed was higher!
The bathroom was small but clean, but it was very difficult to sort out the tv and we had to get help. The whole place had a sad, aged feel, and although it was out of season it all felt a bit like a ghost town despite the weather being beautiful. There is a small carpark at the rear which was useful, but when we left in the morning we saw no one, so it is fortunate that we didn't need to ask any questions as no staff were in sight!

Room Tip: Don't expect too much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliawardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Arrived at hotel and first thoughts were.....it's a very average sea front hotel. How wrong I could be. The staff are just perfect, attentive and not intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble. The room (a family room) was spacious and extremely clean and comfortable. The restaurant and food (cooked by the owner) is absolutely gorgeous, fresh, tasty and generous portions. Breakfast was amazing, the best poached eggs ever. The absolute icing on the cake is that the chef (also the owner) caters for wheat and dairy free diets. Yey! Even has a seperate menu! Lovely friendly atmosphere in the lounge, you really don't want to or need to look anywhere else in Aber for food or accomodation. Definitely highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea front room, and let the sea lull you to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycustomer4856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Pretty standard seaside B&B.Great views, food ok,clean, our room had a great shower but a terrible bed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard-Richmond, Owner at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
May I offer my apology to you. I take all comments and complaints very seriously. My team & I have obviously failed to maintain our usually high standards. I would like more details regarding your visit to enable me to sort out your concerns. The date and your room number would be most helpful. The comment about the unsatisfactory bed will be sorted out. I am always willing to meet guests and discuss problems at the time they occur. I can then resolve any issues to ensure you enjoy your stay.
I hope this experience will not deter you from visiting us again, when I can apologise in person.
Sincerely,
Richard Griffiths
Richmond Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We found the staff to be very accommodating and friendly. Our room was spotless and the hotel itself is in a good location on the seafront. Very happy with our stay here and would definitely recommend staying here (and the breakfast was marvellous!) x

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skane86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Staying for a special reunion gig by a legendary local band we wanted somewhere near the centre of town, the Richmond is it.
On the seafront, just past the bandstand, town centre is just 2 minutes away.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and our seaview room was on of the new ones. A large bathroom with a massive walk in shower proved poular with my wife and the room itself was light and airy with the usual complimentary tea and coffee tray utilising only locally sourced tea, coffee and hot chocolate. A flatscreen tv with full DAB services was large enough to enjoy but placed on a wall where it was unobtrusive. Best of all the free wifi worked throughout the hotel - not always the case.

Reception staff were helpful and had time to chat and offer advice and information, had i not known the town I would have been armed with maps, brochures and personal reccomendations. Wish more receptionists were as interested and engaged with their guests.

Though we didn't have dinner the menu was fresh and seasonal and used local ingredients to their full, Llangadog beef possibly being the star of the show.

Breakfast made our stay. The buffet table offered the usual range of cereals then local youghurts and a stunning freah fruit selection from segmented fresh grapefruit to raspberries, strawberries and blueberries, as well as dried fruits and compotes. The cooked brerakfast again featured local sausage and bacon, free range eggs and locally sourced mushrooms and tomatoes.

Would I stay again? Absolutely, from the free parking on arrival to the genuine wish to see us again on departure this hotel offerd great value and a big welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheffybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Bay front hotel witha location that can't be faulted. Nice bar with sea views. But its really no more than OK, and frankly not as nice as the Guest House I usually stay in when in Aberystwyth.

My single room was way too hot and faced the car park rather than the sea (I know they can't all have sea views), compact and bijou (i.e. small), with one of the softest beds you can imagine. I lived in fear of rolling out of bed at every move. The shower door wouldn't close either. More pluses though: nice breakfast and friendly welcome. Overall, Ok but could do better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJV12338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing